We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best home delivered food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yum Cha - CLOSED

Yum Cha
Price range: $1 - $55
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best home delivered food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

I keep going back to this place because it is just so good. The diversity of the dishes, their freshness the swiftness of the delivery makes this restaurant a wonderful takeaway treat. I am the first to admit that yum cha or dim sum needs to be eaten slowly over good conversation with great friends. However if your need is for takeaway this is fantastic food. I had nasigoring with an assortment of fried and steamed dishes. It's worth waiting after a few mouthfuls because the taste is just delightful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    32
    13
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“top notch dim sum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Situated in Camden, an average looking restaurant, tatty menus and OK service, there is one genuine reason to come here and that's really good Dim Sum. Forget the rest of the menu, just keep ordering a stack of bamboo steamers full of dumplings and other authentic snacks, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
344 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Very good dim sum in Camden Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

The dim sums are very fresh, delicious, of very very good quality and reasonable priced in this unpretentious restaurant in North London, next to Camden Town's stables market on Chalk Farm Road. I have eaten here six times now (it is one of my local Chinese restaurant) and have always enjoyed my food which is always fresh. It feels as though they make their own stuff, rather than using supermarket readymade dim sums. Absolute musts have are the slightly spicy Szechuan minced pork and peanut dumpling, the Chinese prawn and chive dumpling and a steamed dumpling which has some succulent sauce inside called the Shumai (recommended to leave resting for about five minutes for it to cool down and then put the whole thing in your mouth. The explosion of flavours is just superb). The service is quick and efficient. The waiters and waitresses are lovely people but are a bit reserve. I assume most of them are students.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Harold B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant dim sum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

There are many reviews on different restaurant about them having really nice dim sum but everytime i go they disappoint me. This one did not.
As an oversea student my craving for dim sum is more than any other traveller. Yum Cha did not disappoint me but was better than my expectation. If you are around camden market do go and try this restaurant. The 50% off on dim sum for mon-wed after 5pm is still available.
So recommend you to go to camden market in the afternoon at 12pm have lunch at the market/stables so you experience the actual camden market eatery. Shop around till 5pm and head to the restaurant for a good dinner.
Dim sum are decent price and cheaper than most restaurant in london Chinatown.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank francinet22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average Dim Sum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Thought the food was good, but nothing spectacular. Prices were decent, but service was spotty. Very spotty.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jhungtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yum Cha also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing