We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Spanish Gem in the heart of London”

Mar I Terra - Blackfriars
Ranked #3,114 of 23,009 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $57
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Southwark
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Spanish Gem in the heart of London”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

If you like Tapas and have it done in the Spanish way this is a must.

The owner is great, the food and service excellent, great little garden for when the sun is out. It is small and basic but that brings more to the experience.

It makes a change from these big chains that try and sell you Spanish/fusion for twice the price? Forget them and give this place a go for a nice authentic Spanish food experience.

One of the reviews I read stated that the menu wasnt extensive which is true. However I believe this is what probably allows them to keep up a better standard, everything I have ordered has been excellent and is comparable to Spain itself.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Seran T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    83
    22
    7
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Visca Mar i Terra!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Had an absolutely sensational evening here a few weeks back with the brilliant Valencian owners and staff - great food and drink and valencian/catalan music on the sound system, will definitely be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NovoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and great service”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This place is a gem. The food is superb with each dish tasty, fresh, delicious and unique. Really enjoyed it and looking forward to my next visit already

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisV9992013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Really good”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stopped off here on a Friday night, wasn't particularly busy so got seated straight away. Quite a simple looking place and not very big.

Great wine list with some really good value offerings, quite a nice change from many London restaurants.

Food menu was good, not a huge choice compared to other tapas/Spanish places nearby however every dish we had was really good. Wonderful seafood, perfectly coked squid (and lots of it!), some delicious meat dishes well spiced and seasoned, all very enjoyable. Creme Catalane for dessert was great too. The place compares quite favourably with the nearby Meson Don Felipe and is not very far from the station at all.

One thing we noticed too, is that the place was pretty much full of Spanish people. Tells its own story I think! Atmosphere was lively without being over the top, it is possibly a bit noisy fo a quiet meal but we quite enjoyed it. Price a little on the expensive side but I think it was fair given the quality of food served.

Great place, would definitely recommend and will definitely be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andyrout1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Not as good as previously”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We last visited here a couple of years ago and enjoyed it so much decided to return with Spanish relatives - quite disappointing.

The staff were very friendly as always but the food, although quite nice, didn't go the extra mile. The plate we enjoyed the best was the pulpo and the sangria was really good too.

It was a Saturday evening when we visited and there were only two other tables occupied whereas the previous time it was really busy and you could hardly move. Not sure if this was a sign of the food or perhaps it's more busy as an 'after work' place??

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PinkDiamondKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mar I Terra - Blackfriars also viewed

 

Been to Mar I Terra - Blackfriars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing