We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite like being in Greece - but close”

The Real Greek - Bankside
Ranked #886 of 23,009 Restaurants in London
Price range: $19 - $26
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Real Greek is not only a must for anyone visiting London but is also a favourite among Londoners themselves and at Bankside, we pride ourselves in providing our customers with a wide variety of the finest quality of freshly cooked Mediterranean food. Perfectly located next door to the Globe theatre and only a few steps from the Tate Modern, Bankside is in an ideal spot for any occasion. Again serving the authentic Mezedes, Souvlakis and Sharers, our venue has plenty to offer for both business and pleasure. Being situated on the banks of the River Thames, this restaurant draws anyone walking past and we do recommend you make a booking. We have live Bouzouki Music every WE Friday & Saturday evening from 7:30pm
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not quite like being in Greece - but close”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Fun place to eat, picking plates of meze's to share, friendly staff, great for vegetarians too. Just not quite like being in Greece but as it is only a few yards from the Globe Theatre where we were going it was very handy £144 for 5 including a few half litre carafes of wine - not too bad. Would I go again, probably

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank james c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    504
    170
    64
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Food good and varied and extremely welcoming restaurant”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Just returned home from a meal at the Real Greek Bankside. It was a family reunion with family from overseas and because there were 26 of us, booked a party booking with set menu. So happy I did. The food was tasty, varied and in abundance. Also the restaurant staff were so accommodating of our needs and did not hurry us in the least allowing us to have the perfect afternoon. Thank you so much 'The Real Greek, Bankside' and special thanks to Kostas who liaised with me via email in getting everything planned. Great service, great food and a beautiful setting. Highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie267_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great place on the bank of the Thames”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a very good restaurant in a great location. A big crowd of us from work went there for our summer party. The Real Greek is very lively and busy with a great atmosphere. The service was a bit on the slow side - but we were a big group and it was very busy. However didn't feel rushed. The food was lovely - very tasty - and we all had a great evening. Would recommend. Fantastic views of St Paul's across the river.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very nice bit of Greece”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were looking for a place to eat on the river. A larger than life Chef outside offering tasters gave us a huge friendly welcome (although we were going in anyway, we would have simply because of his wonderful enthusiasm and friendliness). Great to see bottles of 'Mythos' all the way from Greece on the menu. The place was really busy and the waiters and waitresses were finding it difficult to keep up but were efficient and friendly. Good choice of hot and cold meze which were delivered on a lovely tower (like a cake stand) which was a great idea. Food was excellent quality, very tasty and extremely good value. Give it a try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great place, great food and good location”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We arrived in Waterloo station and had to get to our hotel near the Tower of London so I suggested we walk a long the south bank and soak up some atmosphere and a few sun rays!

We dropped in and as outside alongside the main pavement and had a 3 plate mezze and a nice bottle of Sauvignon blanc to wash it down with. There was plenty to choose from, and he food was fresh , hot and tasty. Backed up with efficient service we had a nice hour or so just chilling before finishing the other half of our walk to the hotel!

It's a busy place and there were a couple of people there who appeared to be regulars!

I'd recommend this for lunch by the river on a beautiful summers day!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Real Greek - Bankside also viewed

 

Been to The Real Greek - Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing