We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff & tasty food, what more could you ask for?”

The Real Greek - Bankside
Ranked #886 of 23,009 Restaurants in London
Price range: $19 - $26
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Real Greek is not only a must for anyone visiting London but is also a favourite among Londoners themselves and at Bankside, we pride ourselves in providing our customers with a wide variety of the finest quality of freshly cooked Mediterranean food. Perfectly located next door to the Globe theatre and only a few steps from the Tate Modern, Bankside is in an ideal spot for any occasion. Again serving the authentic Mezedes, Souvlakis and Sharers, our venue has plenty to offer for both business and pleasure. Being situated on the banks of the River Thames, this restaurant draws anyone walking past and we do recommend you make a booking. We have live Bouzouki Music every WE Friday & Saturday evening from 7:30pm
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Friendly staff & tasty food, what more could you ask for?”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Popped in here for dinner after a conference at the Mermaid Centre and was pleasantly surprised. The smell from the guy cooking outside definitely helped to lure us in. It was very busy (Saturday evening) and we waited a short while for a table and ended up sitting with another couple at a larger table so we could be seated sooner, which was nice of the staff to consider.
We ordered from the meze menu, which was all pretty good, they bring bits and pieces out as and when they're ready, so it's great if you have plenty of time to enjoy everything. Had a couple of glasses of wine, and 2 complementary shots of ouzo to finish the meal.
I'll definitely go back here next time I'm on the south bank.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oodelallyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    504
    170
    64
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food & great location”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Food great. Efficient service but there was a hiccup! We ordered cold meze of taramasalata & pitta bread, mmmm lovely. Then we waited & waited & waited for our hot meze. Thankfully the manager or owner (don't know exactly who he was) picked up on this & quickly found out that a mistake had been made & within 5 minutes our food arrived. He apologised & told us that we would not be charged for the hot food. This was over & above what we expected & hugely appreciated. The food is amazing. We had a lovely time & despite the "mistake" we would go back to this restaurant & highly recommend it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quick and tasty before the Globe”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Whenever we take in a play at Shakespeare's Globe, we now always eat at this popular Greek restaurant. Not only are they quick and efficient, but if you like Greek/Mediterranean food then its a treat at a reasonable price. We are usually in and out within one hour, but you should allow 90 minutes for a more leisurely meal.

The food includes chicken or lamb skewers, a meze, the other usual Greek dishes and lots of small dishes which are great for sharing. Located on the south bank the view overlooks the City of London with St Paul's Cathedral, and the Shard. It can feel a little crowded, but if you are not taking in a play then the crowds soon thin out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kumar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We ordered the lunch special, which included 3 "courses" presented on a towered plate. Cute and delicious, and good value.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Stroll by the Thames led to a Greek dinner!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Very busy restaurant at the weekend when the sun is out so be prepared to wait for a table.
The meze is priced reasonably and tasty.. Personally didn't like the meat dishes but everything else was lovely, particularly the feta and spinach parcels!
Drinks on par with everywhere else in central London.
Quick, polite service.
Tables are a little cramped.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Faye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Real Greek - Bankside also viewed

 

Been to The Real Greek - Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing