We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“What a fishy evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of FishWorks - Marylebone

FishWorks - Marylebone
Ranked #655 of 20,894 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $94
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Marylebone
Description: This charming branch of FishWorks in Marylebone is a bright, informal restaurant serving up immaculately prepared, simple fish dishes. The cheery blue and white interior makes for a relaxed eating environment, with customers bustling around the traditional fish counter and specials handwritten on the chalkboards. Seafood specials include fish pie and shellfish platters, with a fish-friendly wine list and a children's menu available.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“What a fishy evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Another great evening at the Fish works such super choice of mouthwatering dishes.

The whitebait is amazing so lightly floured so you cans till taste the fish!
my Husband had the Halibut steak and I had the madagascan prawns..... and we had a little room to share the steamed ginger and lemon sponge..... so light!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    204
    56
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
151 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“always good for fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was the fourth time I have visited this place with my daughter. We are both fish and seafood aficionados and are rarely disappointed here. The seafood is usually of a high standard and the fish is fresh and well-prepared. The wine list is also quite extensive and offers interesting choices.
They regularly offer a roast sea-bass with rosemary which is very good and the starters of crab, prawns or whitebait are all excellent. The desserts, though, are nothing special and I would tend to skip them. All-in-all, a good restaurant for lovers of "things from the sea", at a fairly reasonable, though certainly not cheap, price

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank derekfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great food, pity about everything else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We visited the Barbican and went looking for a good place to celebrate some family birthdays. It had good reviews and looked welcoming - till we went in. Despite being about 80% empty they first asked if we had a reservation and then spent some time checking that they could fit us in (note there were empty tables all evening ... so this was our first indication something was not quite right - we should have walked away - note to self). The menu inside was more expensive than it first seemed as all veg. and potato were extra - and be very careful of the fish priced by weight - I ended up paying 37 pounds for a single fish (lovely and tender and tasty though it was). The waiter was OK at first, but then ignored us, dismissed us generally behaved disdainfully. I should say that the starter plate with Tarmosalata was exquisite, and everyone agreed that their main courses were excellent - so there's no problem in the kitchen. But they need to work on staff training and service. To top it all when we were leaving they could not or would not accommodate my daughter's desire to take half her fish stew away with her - they simply said it was impossible. I should have refused to give the 12.5% service charge they automatically add to the bill - but I completely forgot. I suggest you go to the fishmonger instead....

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SMENG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not what it seemed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My daugher took me there for lunch, I ordered the Skate and portion of chips and she ordered the 2 couse special. She was told that the fishcakes would take an hour. She then ordered the cod which was on special that day. She ordered a carafe of wine and was told that this particular one was only available in Richmond.
My Skate, (which was much smaller than the one I had had at Richmond branch) came with a portion of spinach, their mistake, I had to wait for the chips and by then the skate was getting cold. My daughters cod was not hot enough and had to be returned.
We declined to leave the service charge.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank paula h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea, Sweden
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Heaven for seafood lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

With it's attentive staff and fresh seafood this restaurang is one of our Marylebone favourites. It is strategically located on Marylebone High Street and is a combined fish monger and restaurant. The wild Madagascan prawns with garlic, white wine, chilli and fresh ginger are superb. I also recommend the roasted sea bass with rosemary. Two great dishes!

Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FishWorks - Marylebone also viewed

 

Been to FishWorks - Marylebone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing