We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it seemed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of FishWorks - Marylebone

FishWorks - Marylebone
Ranked #651 of 21,533 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $94
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Marylebone
Description: This charming branch of FishWorks in Marylebone is a bright, informal restaurant serving up immaculately prepared, simple fish dishes. The cheery blue and white interior makes for a relaxed eating environment, with customers bustling around the traditional fish counter and specials handwritten on the chalkboards. Seafood specials include fish pie and shellfish platters, with a fish-friendly wine list and a children's menu available.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not what it seemed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

My daugher took me there for lunch, I ordered the Skate and portion of chips and she ordered the 2 couse special. She was told that the fishcakes would take an hour. She then ordered the cod which was on special that day. She ordered a carafe of wine and was told that this particular one was only available in Richmond.
My Skate, (which was much smaller than the one I had had at Richmond branch) came with a portion of spinach, their mistake, I had to wait for the chips and by then the skate was getting cold. My daughters cod was not hot enough and had to be returned.
We declined to leave the service charge.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank paula h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    210
    57
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Umea, Sweden
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Heaven for seafood lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

With it's attentive staff and fresh seafood this restaurang is one of our Marylebone favourites. It is strategically located on Marylebone High Street and is a combined fish monger and restaurant. The wild Madagascan prawns with garlic, white wine, chilli and fresh ginger are superb. I also recommend the roasted sea bass with rosemary. Two great dishes!

Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“All things seafood!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We ate here on a Weds night - 4 adults and 2 kids. Nice atmosphere (busy) but service was attentive. I have eaten here twice in the last 3 months and both times its been a great experience. Fish has been super fresh and well cooked. Scallops for starter were large and full of flavour as were the mussels. Fish and chips and crab were excellent. The kids' meal are great value at GBP10 each including a desert. Wine list is fairly priced (although getting to the expensive end) but matches the fish. Overall a great evening out; good food and lively place. Recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BurgerflipperHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Good Fresh Fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

If you like fresh fish, which I do, then this is worth a visit.
You can choose your fish from the slab and they will cook it to order for you. Or you can order from the menu.
Good choice and the fishmonger is very helpful.
Friendly service.
There is limited meat menu available - but this IS a fish restaurant.
An enjoyable experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GOG316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“South coast fish in London”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Growing up on the coast I didn't really eat much fish, but this much different now - this is a good place to get fish that come from local shores. It is well-cooked and the restaurant is clean and friendly, I especially like the sweet wine accompaniments that are suggested with the desserts.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Drew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FishWorks - Marylebone also viewed

 

Been to FishWorks - Marylebone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing