We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“All things seafood!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of FishWorks - Marylebone

FishWorks - Marylebone
Ranked #789 of 20,709 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $94
Cuisines: British, Soups, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Marylebone
Description: This charming branch of FishWorks in Marylebone is a bright, informal restaurant serving up immaculately prepared, simple fish dishes. The cheery blue and white interior makes for a relaxed eating environment, with customers bustling around the traditional fish counter and specials handwritten on the chalkboards. Seafood specials include fish pie and shellfish platters, with a fish-friendly wine list and a children's menu available.
HK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“All things seafood!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We ate here on a Weds night - 4 adults and 2 kids. Nice atmosphere (busy) but service was attentive. I have eaten here twice in the last 3 months and both times its been a great experience. Fish has been super fresh and well cooked. Scallops for starter were large and full of flavour as were the mussels. Fish and chips and crab were excellent. The kids' meal are great value at GBP10 each including a desert. Wine list is fairly priced (although getting to the expensive end) but matches the fish. Overall a great evening out; good food and lively place. Recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BurgerflipperHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    192
    53
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Good Fresh Fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

If you like fresh fish, which I do, then this is worth a visit.
You can choose your fish from the slab and they will cook it to order for you. Or you can order from the menu.
Good choice and the fishmonger is very helpful.
Friendly service.
There is limited meat menu available - but this IS a fish restaurant.
An enjoyable experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GOG316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“South coast fish in London”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Growing up on the coast I didn't really eat much fish, but this much different now - this is a good place to get fish that come from local shores. It is well-cooked and the restaurant is clean and friendly, I especially like the sweet wine accompaniments that are suggested with the desserts.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Drew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fishing in deep water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Lots of varieties, from large to little. Really excellent quality and good service. Even the dips for bread had a fishy but delicate quality.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank kaatje57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very good fish and seafood restaurant in central London”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have eaten here three times, and every time the food has been excellent.

The selection of fresh fish and seafood is good and the menu is interesting. The food is very well prepared / cooked and comes well presented. Contrary to some other reviewers, in my opinion the portions are not too small. The staff are courteous and all the waiters / waitresses we have encountered here have been friendly and efficient. A 12.5% service charge is automatically added to the bill.

The wine list is fine and not overpriced.

The decor is fairly uninspiring and as a number of reviewers have noted, the dining area is rather cramped and the tables are relatively small. Whereas I wouldn't describe FishWorks as inexpensive, in view of the quality of the food it represents good value.

We will be back.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank UKTripAdviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FishWorks - Marylebone also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to FishWorks - Marylebone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing