We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food (when you can get in)”

The Potting Shed Restaurant & Bar
Reserve a Table
Bookatable
Ranked #1,186 of 27,670 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Marylebone
Description: The Potting Shed is open all day to hotel guests, locals and the public alike for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as morning coffee, afternoon tea, cocktails and bar snacks.
Reviewed April 16, 2019

I ate here a few times while staying at the Dorset Square Hotel above it, mostly for breakfast. The service was fast and thorough and the food was really good. My last night there I wasn't having much luck getting in to surrounding restaurants simply because I got out of work late and figured I could grab dinner there. But it was closed for a private event. I did end up getting room service from there, but not really the same.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bbiermann2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 266 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2019

Went for a work meal.
It has a nice look and feel.
My starter arrived well and tasted well but some other were cold.
The main of veg green Thai curry was one of the worst i have ever had and no flavor to it what so ever.
The desert was really good.
They also ran out of cold beer and was quite expensive for the amount and quality of food.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank taz7863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2019 via mobile

Excellent all the way around. Great service and upscale atmosphere. Service staff handled our group of 16 with efficiency. Had starter of peeled asparagus, light hollandaise and topped with a breaded poached egg. Entree of pan seared sea bass had perfect crispy skin, perched atop spinach risotto. Both were outstanding in presentation and flavor. Somewhat pricey but well worth it.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank lford56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2019 via mobile

We visited the Potting Shed by chance due to its proximity to Marylebone Station. What a fabulous lunch - set menu was excellent and crab cakes superb. I’m told the Bakewell tart was amazing - although I was very happy with my cheese! The staff were attentive and made a real fuss of Mum as she has received an MBE that morning.
Would like to find an opportunity to return...

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank 15helenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2019 via mobile

Very expensive for what you get but what you do get is good. The service isn’t bad but isn’t as attentive as you would expect for a £60 breakfast for two (couple of coffees each). Nice environment though and conveniently close to the station.

Rating based on value for money.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank U3562MJmichellec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Potting Shed Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Potting Shed Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing