We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better lunches than dinners”

Palmerston Bar & Dining Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Palmerston Bar & Dining Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6,182 of 22,853 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $74
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Nearest overland rail: East Dulwich, then 15 minute leisurely walk. 40, 172, 185, P13 busses all stop yards from The Palmerston
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Better lunches than dinners”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This place is good, but its frustratingly inconsistent. I've never had a bad lunch, and the set lunches are good value too. However, I don't think i've ever had a good dinner. I know the kitchen is small, and you could argue that its busier in the evening, but I've been at lunch and its been rammed, so that doesn't stack up. I've had lovely juicy chicken with mash, and great thai beef salad, stonking fish and chips, and sublime lamb with rosemary and garlic. However, I've also had grindingly dull roast, average steak, and tasteless foie gras. The wine list is good, the service also. If based on lunch, this place would be pushing 5 stars, but its not, and the evening meals mean it only gets 3.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    36
    24
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Ludlow WA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lunch on Lordship”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had lunch a few days ago with wife, daughter and her husband. Special was a "feather Steak" which we had not tried. Flavor was good, but quite gristly. Daughter's smoked salmon on yorkshire pudding was star of the meal. Red pepper soup was quite nice.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank etoiledunord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Wicked food and customer service was top notch!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

(13th April 2013) Currently work for a popular high end restaurant in Essex, therefore my view on the standards of food, wine and customer service will be very particular and fussy with my overall opinion being of high expectations.
Firstly I cannot fault the food one bit, timing between courses were perfect, presentation was faultless and last but not least taste was amazing.
Customer service was also at a very high standard, staff were very friendly, attentive however not overwhelming. The only downside will be that we were only asked for an appropriate drink (wine, soft drink not just table water) when we were ready to order food and not at arrival. Apart from that customer service was brilliant and can assure that any customer eating at Palmerston will be satisfied with the service they receive especially from the two employees named Kate and Charleen who were extremely friendly, professional, fun and attentive. Most importantly they made me feel it was no trouble or problem for them to attend to all my small particular needs. I really feel they should be commended for the the outstanding service they provided.
Really recommend for anyone to visit this restaurant if they are willing to spend a bit of money on great food with exceptional service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank talitoogood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Book a table you wont be disappointed”
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful food, whichever menu you try. Have a pie of the week, for a fiver you cannot go wrong. They have a great wine selection. The service is very good and the welcome is always warm and friendly.

For a special occasion, treat yourself, family or friends to their sunday lunch. Wonderful.

Helpful?
Thank monkeyhands67
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“In the top tier of London gastro pubs”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We were taken to The Palmerston by locals who rated it highly. Other reviews mention poor service, but our waitress (Nikki?) was exemplary. It's not a place for a quiet meal, particularly in the bar area, and the room around the tables became a little tight, but it is a pub after all, and provides a warm and friendly, if rather noisy welcome. The food was of high quality; particularly delicious starters - foie gras, snails, and langoustines, well cooked mains - we had steak, lamb, and rabbit, and attractive desserts to follow. The wine list is more extensive than usual for this sort of establishment, and on the pricey side, but as is so often the case, the lower priced wines - we had a Montepulciano at £19.50 - were quite adequate and acceptable. The bill for 4 of us approached £200; a little expensive but worth it; it's an establishment that tries hard and should be supported.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank voyager1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palmerston Bar & Dining Room also viewed

 

Been to Palmerston Bar & Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing