We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best restaurants in the area.”
Review of Oslo Court

Oslo Court
Ranked #104 of 23,024 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $98
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in the area.”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

First time here. Excellent service and great food. Difficult to find but well worth it when you get there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    483
    112
    36
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
“one of my favourites”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This restaurant is like stepping back into the 1970s but I love it. The food is always plentiful and tasty and the service excellent. The remarkable sweet waiter just makes the visit perfect.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Quirky”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were introduced to the Oslo court by friends last night. This is indeed hidden, unless someone knows its there it just looks like a block of flats ( that could do with some talc). Inside the restaurant we were welcomed by many members of staff very enthusiastically. The decor is very eighties and the whole room reminded me of an old people's home lounge. I was very amused to see that they had different height chairs for both ladies and gents!! And further amused that we had different menus, the gents had prices the ladies did not.
The crudités we're very welcome and very good as was the soup. The main courses looked lovely and food was plentiful as we're waiters. I was looking forward to dessert as had read about the waiter. He was a little eccentric but not as much as I had been lead to believe. The food was good and he was very accommodating.
It appears that you have your table for a limited time and I can see why this would be as the restaurant was continuously busy, however it did feel a little rushed and we would have preferred a little more time between courses.
Overall fantastic service, great food, quirky restaurant and decor..

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladieswhatlunch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Welcome blast from the past”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Forget the diet and the latest eating fads, a visit to Oslo Court is an unashamed return to the 1970's (at least). It is a welcome antidote to the relentless change in food fashion.
The service consists of being confronted by several men in dinner jackets plus a token woman. Our evening was punctuated by a train of waiters carrying our a large cake accompanied to off key singing of Happy Birthday. This can apparently happen up to 15 times on a weekend. The clientèle appeared to have a average age of about seventy.
The food however is large portions of well cooked retro dishes delivered with excellent service. I had the seafood salad which included contacted several large chunks of crayfish. The main was roast duck (a half) accompanied by several beautifully cooked vegetables. The dessert was apple tart with ice cream with the addition of a large dollop of berries as the apparently renowned dessert waiter thought it might be a good idea.
The wine list is unadventurous but comprehensive and probably contains the largest proportion of half bottles of any any restaurant I have ever been too.
The bottom line of Oslo Court is that it gives the customers what they want and there is no argument with that.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steppenwolf99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Evening preserved in aspic”
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Went for the first time in a couple of years, and it has been too long. There may have been some subtle changes, but all seemed the same as ever. The usual menu and specials, and everything was cooked very nicely to everyone's liking.

I had Asparagus slathered in silky hollandaise sauce, followed by some beautiful beef Wellington and finished with crepes suzettte

The birthday cake count was 8 for the night which added to the sense of occasion.

Will not be leaving it so long before I return

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oslo Court also viewed

 

Been to Oslo Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing