We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food Good but Rushed!”

El Gaucho - South Kensington
Reserve with OpenTable
El Gaucho - South Kensington is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,915 of 22,375 Restaurants in London
Price range: $26 - $72
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: South Kensington
Transit: Buses: 14, 49, 70, 74, 345, 360, 414, 430, C1 Underground: South Kensington
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Food Good but Rushed!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had previously had a great steak in a visit to London at an Argentinian Restaurant. On spotting this one in South Kensington we decided to give it a go. We arrived at about 9pm on a hot Saturday evening and found the restaurant in a basement with no ventilation or air conditioning. Thus it felt like we were sitting in an oven. I have to say the food was fine, although my 12oz sirloin steak contained quite a bit of fat. If anything, it was over priced as I had to order fries and salad as an extra, the steak at £18 had no accompaniments. Moreover, we felt rushed we were in and out in just and hour, which given the heat was a blessing in disguise. We wont be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank neville r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    128
    43
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
192 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Very Good beef in London”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband and I treated a friend in this restaurant. It is very small, but the beef is good GOOD!
We ate very well, we were pleased, the only thing I did not like was the waitress, she was a little bit condescending and with no intention in providing good service, but the owner pitched in, and he made us feel well treated, so what was the commencement of a bad review, ended up well. Good owners have good reviews.

It is a little bit expensive, but it is worth it as British beef is well known as not being good AT ALL! It well represents good Argentinian food, as it is real Argentinian beef!
Totally recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bett76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, uninspired staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We wanted to go to the more famous Gaucho chain restaurant near by, but that was full, so we decided to test this one.

When you enter the place, it does not look like much. It is a small basement restaurant that is quite plain and unattractive. The service was OK but the staff wasn't to inspired. We ordered stakes, and they were magnificent! We both had one of the best stakes ever.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bente F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“hitt and miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Found this place by accident prior to a Royal Albert Hall concert. The basement location is basic and the staff off-hand and pretty unhelpful.
Although a steakhouse we both only ate the burgers which were good and at 9oz, huge. Price is for meat only, potatoes, veg etc are all extra so could end up expensive.
Would try again to sample a steak as they looked good.
Try not to sit close to the door, even in May the drafts are unpleasant!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
152 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Could be good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Recommended by my student son who had been for a special end of term great. It's in a basement, slightly basic when you get in but maybe that's the theme. It's freezing by the door every time someone comes in, the staff are pretty disconnected from the guest, no recommendation, no upselling, very transactional - they feed you and that's about it! Food wise, the plain rump was great, but that's all you get, the sirloin Neopolitana was rubbish, seemed like tomato purée spread on top of the steak, with some cheap ham and rubbery cheese melted over it. I asked for it medium rare, not realising it came on a sizzle platter (which came at a temperature requiring thermal protection equipment). Consequently, as every good chef knows, the meat needs to relax, but this poor steak continued to cook until it was tough and well done. Fries were ok. Very disappointing.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gaucho - South Kensington also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to El Gaucho - South Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing