We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
London

“Good pasta”
Review of Padella

Padella
Ranked #811 of 27,113 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $16
Neighborhood: Southwark
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Southwark
Reviewed January 21, 2020

Very good quality pasta; amazing taste but really miserable portion! I will not come back; worth to try once, only if there’s not a big queue.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank InspireDesire778719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 1,182 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2020

If you didn’t have to wait so long it might be nice.

This place is the basic level of pasta all restaurants should be doing it’s just this one does it better.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 123fgvx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y6823EJpaolod, General Manager at Padella, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there,

Thank you very much for your feedback about your experience at Padella.

I'm sorry that the food was not to your liking - please could you let me know when you came in so I can use your feedback in the most constructive way possible.

Kind Regards,

Matt. (matt@padella.co)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020

Really nice service, food was freshly made and prices are decent compared to some other places in London! Portions could slightly be bigger though.. Would go again and recommend to friends

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GeorgiaJu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020 via mobile

Service is impeccable and the food even better!!! Finally a place that delivers al dente. The food was amazing, pasta tastes like the good old grand mother hand made pasta. The choices and prices are also very appealing.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 150tashaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020

Pastas restaurants are trending especially when they specialize in freshly made pasta of all shapes and sizes cooked in different ways.
There are many notable pastas restaurants out there like Bancone but Padella is different as it is affordable.
It is located next to Borough Market in the heart of a food market!
Padella is so successful that they will open another branch at the end of Feb in Shoreditch.
In the meantime, get there early as there are always queues of people!
The menu is simple and concise.
My choices were easy, Gnocchi and the tagliarini with anchovy butter.
Gnocchi is one of my favourite pastas and tagliarini is a must because I like anything thin like capellini as it hangs the sauce well.
Had Malfade been a choice, then it would have been difficult as the frilly edges hang sauce to it as well.
There was salt and pepper available but the pasta was tasty so it was not needed.
Water was also provided.
Tagliarini with anchovy butter & pangrattato:
Started with the Tagliarini with anchovy butter & pangrattato first as I was really hungry.
The salty notes really hit me but then it was addictive as each strand of pasta was so moreish.
I didn't know what to expect from the gnocchi but when I put the first piece in my mouth I was shocked how soft and pillowly it was.
They were dreamily delicious with fluffy potatoes in it unlike other gnocchi which are just firm and lack potato taste.
The bill came to about 10 pounds which was an absolute deal.
Although I only tried the two cheapest pastas I was really satisfied with taste so I was happy.
In terms of portion, it is not big which means you can try more pastas in one visit to satisfy your pasta cravings!

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank supersupergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Padella also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Padella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing