We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
London
Post
Inbox
Search

“Gorgeous”
Review of tibits mayfair

tibits mayfair
Ranked #1,082 of 28,833 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Description: tibits offers up a rich buffet with over 40 tasty vegetarian and vegan salads, hot dishes, soups, sandwiches and desserts. Fresh and homemade - for all who like good food.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely little vegetarian/vegan restaurant. We went just after lunch (2.45pm) so didn’t experience any queues. The food is lovely - there’s lot of different things to choose from, including a lot of Indian style dahls etc. You just choose what you want, put it on a plate and then it’s weighed for them to work out payment. As others have pointed out, the only slight problem is, when you come to have it weighed and paid for it you have to wait for the others in the queue to order drinks, so that holds it up a bit which potentially means your food can get cold. If people could order drinks in a separate line that might work?
The ambience of the restaurant and its general location is lovely (halfway down Regent Street). We were welcomed warmly by the staff and shown a great table by the window. My daughter said she is definitely visiting again with her partner and friends and workmates. I would go again too, for sure!

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank kimski44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tibits_restaurant, Guest Relations Manager at tibits mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, thank you for leaving such a lovely review! We always try to be creative with our dishes, so we're glad you enjoyed the spread we have to offer. We will pass on your feedback about the queues to the team. We look forward to seeing you, your daughter and anyone else in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,800)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 1,800 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Been to Tibits a few times before and never disappointed. The food is really fresh, flavoursome and such a good range. I like it because it feels like I’m treating myself, whilst knowing that I’m getting healthy and nutritious food. Right in the heart of everything yet a lovely peaceful restaurant. Desert looked amazing although I stupidly never save room! The only room for improvement I would say is the loos were a bit unloved and our table wasn’t the cleanest.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank NadieK1187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tibits_restaurant, Guest Relations Manager at tibits mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Nadie, thank you for leaving such a lovely review. We love your way of thinking - double treating yourself! So happy that you always enjoy our food and setting and we'll make sure to pass on the note about the table and toilets!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I came here twice during my short visit in London, I liked everything, the place is really nice and there's a lot of choice for the food (vegan and vegetarian) good prices, friendly stuff, probably I'll come back again if will have another visit in London

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank W3BKaliceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tibits_restaurant, Guest Relations Manager at tibits mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, thank you for coming to tibits! So glad you enjoyed it so much that you came back, despite your short trip! We're very pleased to hear that you loved the range of food we have on offer and that you felt welcomed by our lovely team. We look forward to welcoming you again when you next visit London!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2019

It's an unusual concept, but it seems to work .. you serve yourself from the wide selection of good quality veggie and vegan dishes on the boat-shaped bar and take your plate to the counter to be weighed and then you are charged accordingly. I've no idea how they work out the price of such varying ingredients just by weight, and you've no idea what you might pay until the price comes up on scales. But it turns out to be fairly reasonable for such good food. You may have to wait a little while in the queue at times which is a bit frustrating if you have a hot meal and you are behind someone ordering a round of complicated cocktails, but the servers try their best to keep things moving. Not sure how they get round this problem: more servers? separate drinks queue? priority queue for hot food?
We (four of us) settled on a good strategy: get seated, get a round of drinks first before going back for food. We decided to go for the cold dishes as a starter (which averaged at £7 per plate), and then go back for a selection of the hot food as a 'main' - about £15 each. The deserts looked good too, but we decided to treat ourselves to a cocktail (priced reasonably from £6.50 to £8.50), opting for Espresso Martinis, expertly made and delicious. I was sceptical at first but it works: good tasty veggie and vegan food, good atmosphere, good cocktails, no rush, excellent friendly, helpful staff. Thumbs up!

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sky0fblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tibits_restaurant, Guest Relations Manager at tibits mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi, thanks for coming to tibits and we're happy to have received a thumbs up from you! We're pleased you enjoyed our food and the cocktails, as well as being satisfied with the price of your meal. We will let the team know about your comments regarding the waiting time but thank you for being understanding. Look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2019

I had the pleasure of introducing a new friend to Tiibits this time - and it was on vegan day, too - which is always particularly impressive given the range of options they manage to produce. What a wonderful place this is - I've nearly filled up another loyalty card!

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Fudge03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tibits_restaurant, Guest Relations Manager at tibits mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi, so lovely to hear about you recommending us to your friend! Very happy to hear you enjoyed our wide spread of dishes on offer, as we always try to create a range to show how exciting and delicious vegetarian/vegan food is. We look forward to seeing you more often to fill up that loyalty card!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed tibits mayfair also viewed

 

Been to tibits mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing