We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view of the River...”
Review of Elephant Royale - Docklands - CLOSED

Elephant Royale - Docklands
Price range: $39 - $52
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice view of the River...”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Large group 14+, probably will not go back, but an OK restaurant, but good service. I'm struggling to find anything valuable to say about the experience, and that probably says it all... needs to be more of an event, the dishes were very similar.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MinallUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    54
    33
    21
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Sunday Buffet OK”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Went for the Sunday buffet, food ok but not very hot, staff friendly, but they put 12.5% service charge on your bill, Its a buffet so what service??

Ok but Ive been to better, Cant beat Sabai in Brighton.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Londonstevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Red Curry to die for... Or to make your girlfriend jealous!”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Just had the most incredible Panaeng Scallop Red Curry! I have never had such a great red curry in my life. This was one of those moments when for once, food won over my attention and my girlfriend got relegated! Stunning! I paired it with Tiger beer. Believe me, an entirely new flavour emerged from the marriage of the two! No not my girlfriend, the red curry - stay with me here! The scallops were cooked to perfection, and really light, they'd clearly used coconut milk, grapes, and pineapple in the curry, but together with the ginger, peppers and herbs, it created a dish that literally had me doing a Harry Met Sally at every mouthful! My girlfriend stopped finding it funny after the 5th gulp, but I couldn't help it! I was in afterglow for a good half hour afterwards. But the girlfriend... Not so happy...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Belovedra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Absolutly fantastic”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Went there for a meal after having a few drinks in Canary Wharf. We'd seen the restaurant from the river when on a river cruise and wanted to try it.

We were shown to a table outside next to the river, the view was fantastic in the evening with the Cutty Sark across the river.
The meal was fantastic and reasonably priced. It was a lovely way of ending the day.

Will certainly go back again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a great local place!”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Went here on friday night, had no problem in finding the table, presumely because it's a bit out of main roads. But the views are were nice as most of the reviewers have stated. Unfortunately it was pretty cold outside and they seem to be doing some refurbishment at the moment, so didnt have a chance to enjoy the meal outside. But everything we had was realy outstanding, started with pinacolada and strawberry daiguiri (that appears to be their signature cocktail), really good cocktails. My other half had the braised lamb shank, which he really enjoyed, I loved the tiger prawns and asparagus cooked in oyster sauce. Shared a bottle of Rioja, really good priced btw. Service wise left happy as well, being in hospitality industry i'm very picky about everything, but they seem to know their stuff. Will definately be back, hope the outside seating will be available next time!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tussi_deluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant Royale - Docklands also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing