We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Drinks only! Be warned...do not eat here!!! Disaster of a gastro pub.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fentiman Arms

Fentiman Arms
Ranked #14,823 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Price range: $0 - $69
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
122 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Drinks only! Be warned...do not eat here!!! Disaster of a gastro pub.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I dread writing this review for wanting to avoid reliving the nightmare that was my last meal and the Fentiman Arms...and I do mean my last meal at the Fentiman Arms. I hadn't been to this gastro pub for several years after moving outside of the UK, and had convinced friends to return there for old times' sake. Against their better judgment they agreed. Without writing a novel, I'll just give a few clues to how bad it was....cold potatoes, overcooked hamburgers, undercooked (practically raw) steak, dark, rubbery battered fried cod, crispy looking French fries that were actually soggy, sticky toffee pudding without the promised vanilla ice cream. The majority of my friends' meals had to be returned to the kitchen at least once or twice. Please do yourself a favor, go for a beer, but DO NOT EAT HERE!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank albertsquarebcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    41
    32
    28
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Standards Slipping Quickly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Fentiman Arms is a local pub that I've been going to fairly regularly over the last few years. It's on a lovely residential street, has a great garden both out back and out front, and is very comfortable inside. However, the last couple of times that I have eaten there I have been really disappointed with the level of service and the quality of the food. I am not sure whether the business is under new management, but the staff behind the bar seem to be more interested in horsing around with each other than serving drinks to patrons, and the floor staff have seemed to be run off their feet, unable to keep up with the level of pace of demand at the seated tables. I found it very antagonising to be charged a service fee on the bill when I had fetched my own water, my own condiments and had to walk to the bar when I wanted to pay. If someone wants the bill, they generally want it now. Hopefully this was just a bad day for the Fentiman. There are not lots of other decent options in the area and the last thing that locals want is for this bar to slip well below it's previous high standards.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WaynesBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The worst meal in London”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

My friends and I live locally and have been visiting the Fentiman Arms regularly over the last few years. While the food has never been great, and they frequently run out at the weekend, my visit with eight friends in May was the worst meal I have ever had in London. Four out of the eight meals had to be sent back. One was sent back three times. The food was cold, or over cooked or just plain inedible. As part of a group, it is inexcusable for the quality of cooking to be so bad. I can only advise others thinking of going to this pub to visit the Canton Arms instead.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank barabas75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lazy staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

visited it for a late diner with friends. Nobody noticed us, we had to ask for the menu several times. The waiters were chatting with each other and it took very long to serve the food which was average and rather expensive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yarrrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Spoilt by a miserable waitress!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

This was my first visit to the Fentiman Arms as it was my son's local, and such a find in London should be appreciated. The pub was very inviting inside and the outside at the back looked lovely with tables, heaters, and even blankets, and I am sure is fab in summer.
Sadly, we got the waitress with a face that looked as though she'd been sucking lemons. Unhelpful and miserable. Such a pity! The starters and the main course were brought in together and it didn't go down at all well that two of our party actually wanted to eat the starter first then have their main course. Not rocket science!
There seemed to be no organisation and obviously no staff. Sunday lunch time is notoriously busy so why not? We all felt as though we were an inconvenience though it was noted that not everybody got the same treatment. As for me, it put me off staying for a sweet, so thanks for that. A shame really, as the food was ok.
I am told the breakfasts are wicked - are the staff, I ask myself?

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fentiman Arms also viewed

 

Been to Fentiman Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing