We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Ruby Blue

Ruby Blue
Ranked #5,486 of 22,822 Restaurants in London
Price range: $13 - $52
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Soho
Description: Situated just off London's Leicester Square, Ruby Blue is a bar and restaurant where you'll find everyone from clubbers to theatre-goers or tourists to Londoners, soaking up that London atmosphere. When it comes to dining, Ruby Blue is deliciously on the case. Choose from an interestingly varied menu while you're entertained by a live pianist (Sat only). Tempting new dishes including the Chargrilled Lemon & Thyme Marinated Chicken & the new Sticky Chilli Lamb Rump served with sweet potatoes, yoghurt & coriander sauce. Finish with the indulgent Chocolate Fudge Brownie for a truly spectacular meal. Perfect for an intimate dinner for 2 or a fun party night. Sumptuous booths, a gorgeous restaurant and a luxurious lounge make Ruby Blue the ideal venue for a midweek hangout or weekend treat. Happy Hour at Ruby Blue: 17:00 - 20:00, all drinks, everyday!
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked a deal for comedy show tickets, a two course meal and a glass of prossecco for £25. The meal was at Ruby Blue, the club was elsewhere. Obviously I can't argue with the value, it was a good deal. The restaurant itself was nice, quite small, but presentable. I'd rung that day to reserve a time slot but when we arrived we weren't on the list, and so were put onto a table that was next to both the bar and exit which was far from ideal. Having said that, we were 45 minutes late for our booking and they were more than helpful when we called to let them know. The food was ok, risotto was not very good but the steak looked nice and the pudding was excellent. The staff tried to be friendly but service was pretty slow. All in all, for the deal we had it was good value for money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubyBlueManagement, Manager at Ruby Blue, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Many Thanks for the feed back,


I will make sure your points are sent to the team.


Thanks again John Short.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    145
    74
    56
    103
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We went here after getting an offer online for a meal and theatre ticket and I was very unsure what to expect.
The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the 2 course meal was lovely. There was a bit of live music and this gave it a lovely atmosphere.
The restaurant is in a great location if you are going to any of the many theatre shows.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubyBlueManagement, Manager at Ruby Blue, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thanks for your great feed back we hope to see you soon


Have a great Christmas.


John Short.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rip off”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Having booked a table and turning up on time, the ridiculous charge ontop of £10 per person where free entry was guaranteed is appalling. Music isnt great at all. Private areas are nicely decorated. Not somwhere you would return.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MKB1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The location is brilliant with a terrace area overlooking leicester square”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We came here on a theatre/meal deal and hadnt paid much for the tickets and a 2 course meal and overall I was pleased with the meal. There were 12 of us and the meals did take a while to come but we werent in a rush and enjoyed drinks and a chat whilst the meals were coming. We had pre ordered some wine packages at 2 bottles of wine for £15 and they were really good value. Most of the food was of a good standard but some of my party had the risotto which they were disappointed with and said it was a bit sloppy. But I loved my steak and chips and my caeser salad starter. The portions were smal but thats what you come to expect with a theatre meal deal so cant complain. There was a mix up with the drinks but the staff couldnt apologise enough and we even got some free wine and a reserved seating area all trimmed up in the club - which was a pleasant surprise as i had been told that you had to pay for that! We would definately come back. The only small grumble I had is with the door policy as one of my group got lost on the way to the toilet and the staff escorted her completely out of the premises and wouldnt allow her back in saying she had druk too much. Whilst this may have been true I'm disappointed that they would do this to a female on her own!!! Lucikly one of my group spotted it happening....

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Profandcompany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Meal at Ruby Blue”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

On Saturday night, we had a pre-order, but unfortunately they didn't receive it! Quite disappointing; however, our waitress, Justina, managed to resolve the issue by taking our orders again. The meal was fantastic and the atmosphere was amazing - unfortunately, we thought the drinks were a tiny bit pricey, but everybody had an incredible night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby Blue also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Ruby Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing