We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, simply perfect”
Review of Clos Maggiore

Clos Maggiore
Reserve with OpenTable
Clos Maggiore is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #71 of 23,009 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $52 - $65
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Cross street: Bedford Street
Transit: Underground: Covent Garden, Charing Cross, Leicester Square
Description: If romance is in the cards, London's most romantic restaurant is Covent Garden's multi award-winning Clos Maggiore. Echoing the charming country inns of Provence and Tuscany, the warmly muted decor, low lighting and welcoming log fire were clearly designed with love in mind. The skylight is surrounded with twining, flower-starred branches to resemble an Italianate courtyard, a delightful faux-rural treat in the city centre. Seasonally inspired classic French cuisine coupled with impeccable service is the order of the day at Clos Maggiore restaurant, with a focus on chic presentation and bold flavours. The range of menus include a six-course "tasting menu" featuring such dishes as "Seared Wild Scallops, Ratte Potato & Winter Truffle" and "Pan Roasted Fillet of Cornish Cod, Olive Oil & Basil Pomme Puree". In addition Clos Maggiore serves a reasonably priced, regularly changing set lunch and pre-theatre menus. To find the perfect complement Clos Maggiore's extensive cellar includes over 2500 labels and was extended earlier this year to include an additional 400 wines at a low - mid price range. They have recently been awarded the "The Grand Wine Award 2014" by the Wine Spectator - one of only 70 restaurants worldwide to receive this accolade. Clos Maggiore has been voted in the "Top Ten" categories for "Best French Restaurants", "Best Ambiance" and "Special Occasion Restaurants" by opentable. Toptable lists Clos Maggiore as one of the most highly rated dining venues in London and Square Meal lists Clos Maggiore as one of the best restaurants with Private Rooms.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful, simply perfect”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The most amazing food ive ever eaten. The service was on another level to anywhere i have ever eaten. The roaring open log fire and the atmosphere made for the most romantic and beautiful of settings. Will definitely be back. We would have quite happily paid double for what we had.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,313
    532
    184
    55
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“If you look for a romantic restaurant and a good meal, you found it!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

If you look for a romantic restaurant and a good meal, you found it! It's no cheap but it's a good value for the money.The courses are elaborated and delicious. The wine menu has no end, you can find hundreds of difference wines around the world, but if you are not an enthusiastic of wine they have also a top list recommendations for you.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariolloret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved it.”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We apparently were lucky, being seated in the conservatory which was charming. The staff were very attentive and the food was very good, quite reasonable for London I thought. Having read some of the other reviews it seems as a restaurant it is impossible to please everyone. Don't blame the restaurant if you are ripped off by a cab firm. go and get your own black cab outside instead or take the tube.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ishouldbedancing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“More like Gross Misunderstanding”
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Booked on-line well in advance to celebrate our anniversary at "London' most romantic restaurant"unfortunatley we were shown straight upstairs to a separate room unconnected with the main restaurant,what a let down,absolute rubbish.
To make matters worse we went on a Sunday evening and they have a much reduced menu ,which they don't tell you about .The food is average to be fair my foie gras was good but my wifes soup and scallops were awful.
The final straw was the taxi they called for us charged £15 for a trip that earlier cost £5 in a black cab.
Don't believe the hype there are hundreds of better places in London .

Helpful?
1 Thank WALSHPATRICK50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorrettRestaurants, Manager at Clos Maggiore, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for visiting Clos Maggiore and for taking the time to review us.

We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed by our Sunday evening special set menu. We believe this menu provides excellent choice and value offering 3 Courses for £22.50 or 3 Courses and half a bottle of selected wine for just £26.50.

We unfortunately do not have a relationship with any taxi companys in the West End and therefore cannot control the amount they charge.

Following up on your comment as to the conservatory, we are sorry but we have found the fairest way for all guests is to offer this on a first served first basis, this should have been explained to you at the time of booking. The room in which you dined receives many compliments and we are very proud of it.

We do hope to welcome you back to Clos Maggiore on another occasion in the future.

Best regards

Clos Maggiore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
900 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“What a place!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We came here the day after we were married for a romantic dinner and i was so pleased. It was such a romantic setting, we didn't get seated in the conservatory but were still by a roaring fireplace. The staff were so attentive without being overbearing and the food was just gorgeous! It really is one of the best places i've eaten!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clos Maggiore also viewed

 

Been to Clos Maggiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing