We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food ok, bad service, outrageous beer price!”

Royal China - Baker Street
Ranked #6,105 of 22,552 Restaurants in London
Price range: $73 - $78
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Marylebone
US
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food ok, bad service, outrageous beer price!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We had dim sum which was ok, nothing special, the portion is a bit small(had to order 11 between 3 of us). The service was not good at all for a 13%compulsory. Service staff are not friendly, no eye contact when serving. At the end When we got the bill we found the 4 half pints Cobra beer cost 22.6 pounds! Yes, not a miss-charge or mistake, they are £11.3 per pint! That has to be the most expensive beer that I have ever had!

Helpful?
Thank the_pretty_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    200
    119
    57
    83
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good dim sum in average surroundings”
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

One of a chain, a bit cramped up and with indifferent and hurried service. But the dim sum that we had was tasty and the price acceptable (for London).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank dardap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food bad, service bad, cannot recommend at all”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Made a reservation but when we arrived they said they don't have our reservation. After some negotiations they gave us a table but gave us the feeling they are doing us a favor and we should eat as fast as possible as the table is already booked in an hour.

Food was worse than a takeaway restaurant. Crispy duck was very very dry and cold. Spring roles tasted like half cooked frozen spring roles from the super market. Rice was undercooked and we ordered a chicken main which had three 1cm long pieces of chicken, rest were onions and bell peppers.

Staff was not attentive, unfriendly and sloppy. Do not recommend at all, there are many better Chinese restauratns in London.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LubnaniLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The single worst dining experience of my life”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

The food was average at best . Through out the meal one waitress was assigned the job of watching us eat , and when someone headed to the bathroom they were asked if they had paid (this was before their main course had arrived).
Food arrived late , was cold and drinks that we had ordered did not appear. The worst part was that after paying the bill a waiter came to our table with a calculator creating a spectacle in front of other diners and after much shouting between him and his manager we were allowed to leave as we had overpaid substantially.
Worse still some of the racist comments made by staff were shocking, and unexpected in his day and age.
It overall an incredibly humiliating experience we were treated like criminals when we had simply wanted to enjoy a meal at a highly rated and authentic Chinese restaurant

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adjuah a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trempealeau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I've been going to this place for 15 years and NEVER had a less than amazing experience.”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Dim Sum. Wow! Crispy Duck. Fried Calamari. Sesame Shrimp. Pork bun. And, that's just for a start. This is one PERFECT dining establishment (though I don't believe I have ever made it past dark). Great service/staff. Amazing food. Perfect lighting. The balance is 3 dim sum for each individual, though everyone should order and share. So, if you are with a group of 3, order 9. Group of 4, order 12. Do the math. Incredible food that you just can't get enough of.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmyWcuatthehotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal China - Baker Street also viewed

 

Been to Royal China - Baker Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing