We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for pre theatre food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Covent Garden Grill - CLOSED

Covent Garden Grill
Price range: $0 - $49
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Description: The unpretentious Covent Garden Grill serves its crowd of regulars and tourists a great range of steaks and other cuts, chargrilled to order from an inventive menu. Diners loll on the comfy sofas with friends, or hide away in one of the restaurant's private booths for a romantic rendezvous or a business get-together. There's a theatre menu for playgoers, and prices are surprisingly reasonable for the heart of the West End.
Elgin, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great for pre theatre food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

A really enjoyable meal with friends for a birthday celebration. Booked by e mail and response was very prompt and kindly offered balloons and a cake. Warm welcome, lovely food and cocktails. Thank you for making our trip to London special.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BJS4872005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    186
    50
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for a meal before the theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Friendly service, good food, a really enjoyable family meal for a birthday celebration. Recommended - also very helpful when booking by email

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great eating experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We (two adults, one teenager and a 3yo) called in mid afternoon without booking, but we were shown to a booth immediately - we were advised that the table was booked early evening but we'd be done by then. We had seen the fixed price menu outside, and although we had to ask for it - it wasn't a problem.

The children had a decent selection and when the food was presented it was great to see that it was "proper" food as opposed to preformed chicken bits. The portions were generous too. Our waiter was fantastic, and couldn't do enough for us - even arranging a doggy bag for our train home.

The adults menu - although obviously restricted - was well thought out, and delicious to boot. The wine and beer were included which was nice (as was the wine)

I'd recommend this restaurant to adults or families both were well catered for.

They were setting up a huge table downstairs, lots of candles and nicely laid out so I'd also say that groups were welcomed. The only thing I can't give 5 stars to is the atmosphere - but as we were the only ones there it's hard to tell. But I'm sure that with the attentive and friendly staff it would be great even when it's full.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“possibly the best service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Ate here on sat 23/02 arrived at 7pm but had booked table for 8pm but this was not a problem, then hit a problem with the pre-paid meal voucher that we had ordered from buyagift (our fault entirely) however the excellent manageress explained where we had gone wrong and what we should have done and for a minute we thought had lost the money we had paid for the voucher, however the manageress explained that she would phone the voucher company (to sort out our mistake) and suggested we ordered some drinks while she was doing and to relax. After a while she came and told us that buyagift were being unhelpful but she would sort the problem out on monday and that we should relax and enjoy our night.
The service from the waiter (sorry didnt get his name)was excellent and the food was delicious, I had the caesar salad followed by the pork and then choc fudge cake, the timing between ordering our meals and it arriving was spot on not too long but not too quick in between courses
I would recomend that the owner sends some of the staff to harvey nicks 5th floor to give their staff a lesson in customer service as we visited there in the afternoon but walked out due to the appalling service (OR LACK OF IT)
My only gripe is the 12.5% service charge automactically added well deserved in this case (we actually left more) and while it seems commonplace in london surely this should be upto the customer to decide rather than have it thrust upon them, one for all restaurants to take note of.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carrg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Food good - Pricey but to be expected for the location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

My fiance and I ate here on Sunday 17 February. We had a ceasar salad and a burger. It was not cheap but the food was good. A nice salad with plenty of chicken and the anchovies on the side as requested. The burger was delicious but having added an extra topping or two, it was £18 for the burger which I think is a little steep.

The staff were friendly and deserving of the 12.5% tip they added to the bill - still I prefer to make the choice on service myself.

It is very close to Covent Garden and we did have a lovely meal. It lacks a little atmosphere and tries to make up for that with music which is a little loud. Having music that loud is ok, but most of the music from the 1990s is forgettable and so perhaps a different CD would be better.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellierow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Covent Garden Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing