We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gaucho always delivers”
Review of Gaucho - City

Gaucho - City
Ranked #2,169 of 22,857 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $52 - $91
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City of London
Transit: Tube:Bank/Monument
Description: Gaucho source the finest grass-fed beef in the world from Argentina, along with an offering of many other Argentine specialities which range from Latin American style ceviche to chorizo, Gulf de San Jorge lobster, Patagonian lamb and Argentine gambas to traditional empanadas and fine wine. We also offer the largest wine selection in the world outside of Argentina in our restaurants and guests can buy many of the wines from our wine boutique, Cavas de Gaucho on Swallow Street. With seasonally changing menus served across all of our restaurants, we also offer The Gaucho Lunch menu, either two or three courses, between Monday and Friday.
Thurrock, Essex
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Gaucho always delivers”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We visited early on a Friday evening, straight from work. This is the first time I had been to this branch of Gaucho, similar interior as all the others - dark with lots of cow prints.

We chose the trio of medallions to share with sides of sweet potato and chorizo, black quinoa (highly recommend!) and tomato salad with a carafe of red. All delicious as you would expect

For dessert we had apple pancakes and salted dulce de leche cheesecake - a great finish!

The service was good but perhaps a little full on. Perhaps due to the fact it was early friday evening. She was very sweet but it would have been nice to have been left alone

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lovehols4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    112
    49
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“All About the Steaks!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This was my first experience of a Gaucho restaurant and we were taken there by business colleagues. The restaurant itself is very dark and takes a while for your eyes to adjust! It is underground which means it's never going to have a huge amount of natural light but the decoration of the restaurant (mostly black) certainly doesn't help in re-balancing this out. As a specialty steak restaurant the waitress took some time to bring out a board with various types of steak and go through the various options from the menu. She seemed to be knowledgeable but to be honest a lot of it went right over my head! We had starters, main and a dessert all of which were very tasty. The steak itself (don't ask me which one I ordered) was cooked just as requested and was gorgeous. Certainly one of the best steaks I have had for a long time. This is not a cheap place to eat. The steaks are big and they come with a similar price tag. You will also need to pay extra for all of your sides and this will soon mount up. Clearly this is right in the city of London and therefore prices are on the high side anyway. All things considered if you like your steak then this place would be great; not only for a nice meal but also for a great "steak experience" that you are not going to get at your normal restaurant. However, if you're a vegetarian this might not be the place for you!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeW30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place for a nice steak”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were lucky enough to have Gaucho in the same building as our hotel.
Decided to eat our first dinner in London here.
Our waiter was really nice, and took her time explaining the different types of steak they served. All three of us chose different a different kind of steak, and we all loved our food.
We came kind of early, so we were almost alone in the restaurant. Which meant we got all the attention from the staff, and got served quickly.
The only negative i have to say about this restaurant, is that every now and then you could smell sigarette smoke. This seemed to come whenever someone from the staff came down from the floor over us.
Absolutely go in for a meal if you are in the neighborhood.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best steak in London”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Spent the evening here on an informal work celebration, some of the best food I've ever had - also worth a mention is the excellent wine menu. The majority of the restaurant is underground so it's quite cosy and a very comfortable spot for an evening dinner particularly in the winter.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jemma_Stones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great steak”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I took my boyfriend as I fancied something a little more special than the norm for dinner. They have two wine menus - regular wine, bottles anything between £30-80, and a 'Fine and Rare' wine menu. We opted for a £33 bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon. Our fillet steaks each cost about the same. I prefer minimal fat on meat and cooked rare - I must say this steak was melt-in-the-mouth amazing. With sauces at £3 each, sides of spinach about £5, the service a little forced, imposing and over-the-top, and the restaurant itself extremely dark, at £120 it was a lovely meal but a little over-priced.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophie_GJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaucho - City also viewed

 

Been to Gaucho - City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing