We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect 40th Birthday”
Review of Gaucho - City

Gaucho - City
Ranked #1,993 of 22,552 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $52 - $91
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City of London
Transit: Tube:Bank/Monument
Description: Gaucho source the finest grass-fed beef in the world from Argentina, along with an offering of many other Argentine specialities which range from Latin American style ceviche to chorizo, Gulf de San Jorge lobster, Patagonian lamb and Argentine gambas to traditional empanadas and fine wine. We also offer the largest wine selection in the world outside of Argentina in our restaurants and guests can buy many of the wines from our wine boutique, Cavas de Gaucho on Swallow Street. With seasonally changing menus served across all of our restaurants, we also offer The Gaucho Lunch menu, either two or three courses, between Monday and Friday.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
“The perfect 40th Birthday”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Perfect food, amazing ambiance and the best staff in London!!! What more can you wish for on your 40th birthday?

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fredrik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    108
    49
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Disappointing steak, expensive wine, lovely staff”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I went with 2 friends, one a Sikh. Perhaps a steak restaurant is not the ideal place to eat for someone for whom the cow is sacred. But a little more sensitivity towards Sikhs should be introduced; the waitress brought a platter of raw steaks to our table. Personally I thought this was totally unnecessary and somewhat patronising but so much worse with a Sikh on the table. The starters were nearly all over £10 and our steaks well over £20 but in Central London that is to be expected. Unfortunately one third of my steak was inedible. Surely seeing so much meat cast aside someone should have enquired why? I was a guest and felt unable to complain and my friend's plate was cleared fully! My other colleague's pork appeared fine after he insisted on having it well done. Again, there was a degree of insensibility in trying to persuade him to have it medium rare - against his beliefs! There is a very good executive feel about Gaucho and the prices reflect that. My Sauvignon Blanc was about the cheapest wine at £25. Expect to pay £35+ for a decent red. The staff are lovely and friendly and really 'appealing' which helps cushion the blow of the bill.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wingco44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Lovely steak and service but overpriced”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The steaks was very good - didnt expect less as its a steak restaurant. They are priced for the London city workers using company credit cards though. The venue is very nice but too pricey and i think they can reduce the portions and reduce the price as well

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Olah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Reasonable steaks, unreasonably priced”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The steaks here are quite good - but then, so they should be, it's a steak restaurant. They are priced for the London city workers using company credit cards though. It's a nice venue but, for the money, you can find better steaks. It's a pricey little number!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Suzxq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Sumptuous Steaks in an Alluring Atmosphere!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My second visit to this clubby-styled Argentine restaurant did not disappoint. The selection of ceviche and authentic empanada starters were delicious. The steaks were prepared to perfection. Our table of four shared a selection of three delicious 400 gram steaks: entrana, ancho and lomo, which were unique in flavour and texture. The humita side dish (roasted pumpkin and corn in a corn husk), was amazing. The menu is complemented by a wonderful selection of Argentine wines (Malbecs and a wonderful Cab from Salta (Michel Torino 'Don David'). Sadly, we didn't save room for any of the desserts, which sounded amazing. Gaucho did not disappoint!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonTraveller61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaucho - City also viewed

 

Been to Gaucho - City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing