We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another delicious brunch”

Balans Soho Society - Kensington
Reserve a Table
DesignMyNight
OR
Order Online
Ranked #1,447 of 28,637 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $27
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Tube - Kensington High Street Buses - 49, 27, 9, 10, 328, 28, C1
Description: Well-to-do west London respectability meets Soho’s louche debauchery in the heart of High Street Kensington. At Balans Soho Society there is nothing we take more seriously – the correct temperature of every drink and the warmth of every welcome, aside – than the quality of our food. Using only the freshest, locally sourced, seasonal ingredients from such suppliers of excellence as The Ginger Pig and H. Forman & Son, everything is prepared in-house. Cocktails are all freshly made by skilled mixologists. The wine list is skillfully chosen to carefully complement the eclectic, globally influenced menu. Bohemian, gregarious, sophisticated and perhaps just a touch eccentric - a place to abandon your plans - Balans is the quintessential Soho experience.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

2nd visit here and it didn't disappoint. Friendly, efficient service and delicious, fresh food. Brunch with cocktails is definitely to be recommended

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim P, Public Relations Manager at Balans Soho Society - Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much. It's often relatively easy to persuade customers to try something once but to translate that into a repeat purchase is really the tricky thing. It's always a delight when we are able to welcome guests back to Balans Soho Society and we consider ourselves extremely fortunate that we have so many who return again and again. We hope we see you for a third visit very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 506 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2019

It was an expensive yet underwhelming meal. Definitely won't be returning. Service charged for just bringing the food to the table. Not impressed.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank kathryn1r1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim P, Public Relations Manager at Balans Soho Society - Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review - however disappointing it was to read. We can only apologise that our food wasn't to your taste and that we won't be getting the opportunity to welcome you to Balans Soho Society again. We were slightly confused as to your definition of a service charge, though. Surely that's more or less - taking your order, answering any questions, bringing your drinks, making sure you are comfortable and ensuring everything is tickerty-boo with your food aside - what service in a restaurant is?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2019 via mobile

This is our third visit. Twice before just for a drink but this time for a meal. As usual the service is fantastic and couldn’t fault any of the food. The sourdough bread is to die for!I loved my red Thai prawn curry, others in the group said the haddock was excellent as was the burger and sea bass. So, fantastic food, relaxed atmosphere with attentive service and you have a winning formula. Wish we lived nearer and could go again soon

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 2Frenchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim P, Public Relations Manager at Balans Soho Society - Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

What a lovely review! Thank you so much. You missed out another vital ingredient in the mix, though - GREAT GUESTS! We consider ourselves incredibly fortunate to attract such delightful friends to our door - without whom we would just be a room full of tables and chairs with a load of food in the fridge. Thank you again and we hope it won't be too long before we see you once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2019

Lovely food and lovely service!! The best tasting drink we’ve had in London/the UK so far (and so cute)!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank gabrielleshipley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim P, Public Relations Manager at Balans Soho Society - Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

That's very kind of you to say - thank you so much. Our skilled mixologists do a wonderful job. Do please come and join us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2019

Disappointing breakfast - go somewhere else people. Kedgeree had no taste. Cappuccinos too were weak.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Paulvew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim P, Public Relations Manager at Balans Soho Society - Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We were saddened to read you hadn't enjoyed your time with us and that our food wasn't to your taste. We genuinely dislike disappointing any of our guests and we know our lovely team in our restaurant in Kensington will be disheartened that this was the case for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Balans Soho Society - Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing