We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very mediocre”

ASK Italian - London - Spring Street
Ranked #846 of 22,367 Restaurants in London
Price range: $9 - $17
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: With a prime location along Spring Street, this ASK Italian restaurant has recently gone through an extensive refurbishment. We've created a restaurant with a distinctive new look inspired by modern Italian design. And with the help of our expert friends, including awarding-winning chef Theo Randall, we've created a menu that features a range of simple, classic Italian food and an all Italian wine list.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very mediocre”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I walked in because the place looked busy with happy customers, but was quite disappointed. Service is very sketchy, and the "Italian" food - totally predictable and poorly executed. Eddible, but nothing more. I found some comfort in a reasonably priced bottle of Italian white wine, wich the waiter recommended. Unless you are desperate, don't bother to try.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hed1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    206
    72
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“very good food at good prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

we all enjoyed this resturant it was very warm and very welcoming to everybody including children, the food was very very very good and we all enjoyed it and it was not that pricey in fact it was quite cheap for this area of london all in all it was very good

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank tracterboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I last visited this Ask four years ago and it is still good. Friendly service, lovely pizzas, fairly generic decor, but clean. Prompt service. The large flat pizzas come with their own pizza wheels and bottle of chilli oil, which I thought was a nice touch. Very good value for money.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lodesgymraeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the food - service slow”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Service was slooooow. No one to greet me on arrival, picked my own table and just sat down. Took about 10 mins to get a beer.

Ate from the specials menu and the food was tasty enough, but when eating dinner for one in a chain restuarant I'd expect to be in and out in way less than 1.5 hours for two courses.

So: Food was fine, but service was poor. Probably would have had more attention if I'd been in a group.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chipping campden
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great for all age groups”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Very near to our hotel and Paddington Station for return journey. Helpful, smiley staff and so clean. We had a grandson with us and were given a picture to colour and crayons. Appetising appealing food for a 3 year old and for us too - loved the baked king prawns. Would certainly return.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank cotswold017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ASK Italian - London - Spring Street also viewed

 

Been to ASK Italian - London - Spring Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing