We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Piri Piri Squid or Shashimi Tuna?”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bar Japan - CLOSED

Bar Japan
Price range: $50 - $51
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Earls Court
Cheadle-Hulme - UK
Level Contributor
144 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Piri Piri Squid or Shashimi Tuna?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Well I opted for the Piri Piri Squid to start and spicy chicken for main and was not disapointed.
Will try the sashimi next time.
Service was fast and efficient. Decor was bland and basic, but the flavoursome food more than made up for that.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Japanese food in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We went here yesterday. The fact it was called 'Bar Japan' made me expect the worst, the fact that it was empty didn't help either. Boy was I surprised though. The sashimi was some of the best I've had in London: Fresh, firm fish, served on ice in half bamboo shoots. No fish smell, and really delicious. The noodles and main were also extremely tasty and with great quality ingredients. The only criticism I have is for the staff, but I'm not exactly sure what I'm criticizing. They were friendly and attentive, but somehow a little distant, and sometimes, despite the place being empty, they were a bit hard to get over. Otherwise this is a terrific find, and close to home so I'll be back

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not worth a visit”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

I live if Earls Court and loves sushi so I have been to many sushi bars in London and had been looking forward to visit this local sushi bar for a long time. We chose the Olympic opening night with a few friends.
However, the service was really poor. The waitress didn't understand how many hand rolls we needed after the third time of explanation. We waited at least 25min for the first serve after arrivinf at 7:30 with only one other table occupied and they had forgotten one of the starters.
Plus, it is rather expensive compare to many good restaurants in Earls Court.
Thanks to bar Japan, we nearly missed the Olympics opening ceremony on the TV.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lovesush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
223 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

Deliciously freshly prepared food. Great bento boxes and sashimi and very reasonable by Japanese restaurant standards. Efficient service.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeffCypress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London , UK
Level Contributor
130 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

This is a nice, simple Japanese restaurant. The menu is not very extensive, but not bad.

The food was good, the service friendly and efficient, and although I would happily eat here again there was nothing that made me want to rush back. Cheap wooden disposable chopsticks spoiled things a little.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RockerLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Japan also viewed

 
London, England
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing