We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and nice surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
London Visitors Hotel
Ranked #473 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean and nice surroundings”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The location was pretty good. The room was clean and the toilets were all good. The staff was relatively nice and breakfast was very good. It's also a beautiful building to look at itself. The only problem was they didn't have phones in each room, so when I desperately needed to make an urgent call I needed to use the one on the front desk, but they almost made me pay for a phone call. Overall, it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    192
    74
    18
    7
See reviews for
117
104
23
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

It's a nice place and more a large B&B than a hotel.

The things I liked most are:

a) Very pleasant staff and owners. Laid back, friendly and helpful. Good housekeeping.
b) The old fashioned (: Victorian I guess?? :) living room with the interesting wall paper, big leather armchairs, wooden chess set, proper fire place, grandfather clock, chandelier, big mirror over fireplace etc.
c) Location in Kensington & Chelsea very close to celebrity homes. Near Holland Park. Lots of transport options, restaurants / bars, shops, churches etc. all within 5-20 minutes walk. Very near Kensington Olympia / Olympia Underground. Shepherd's Bush and Kensington High Street are about 20-30 minutes walk away. 24-hour Tesco & Sainsbury within a 15-minute walk.
d) Coffee at any time between 1000 and 2230 HRS. Served to you.

The rooms can range from spacious to small depending on price. I was happy that my room had a skylight and a wash basin + it was clean and kept clean by daily housekeeping. Common shower & toilet areas are fine - each one a little bit different. I'd like to see better shower pressure and flow.

Breakfast is also more than adequate (: donuts, eggs, toast, coffee, tea, croissant, cold meats, cheese etc. :). I was happy with it.

This is an old building so if you'd like to avoid stairs or have much luggage you're best off booking a ground or first floor room at a higher price because they're bigger.

All in all I was very happy to stay here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harshapaulraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Rome was always- every day clean, toilates also. nice and very friendly staff. We liked Anja very much, she was awsome. Breakfast was very good, fresh food every day. Room was nice, everything basic you need is there.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tjaša J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stayed at this hotel from 11th to 14th May 2014 and I found the room, though compact, was neat and the bed was comfortable. The toilet was outside but I did not have any problem in using it while I was there. The Olympia Railway Station is just opposite the street, which was quite handy for travelling. Also, the Holland Park and the Kensington Garden and the Palace are close by, and there are plenty of avenues to take photography and while your time. The free continental breakfast served everyday was quite nice and enjoyable. Good value for the money and I have no hesitation to recommend this place, though it is a bit out of the London City. But then, London has a fantastic and fast tube railway system and one can travel from one end to the other in minutes. One minus point though there are no lifts and so it will be harder for the old people and they should ask for rooms at lower level.

Room Tip: Go for the lower level since there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

We arrived in the afternoon of May 7, 2104. The checking in was fast, Anna, front desk assigned there was so friendly and helpful. Although the room is big (2 double beds) and daily we get new towels, there was no lift, so hard carrying huge luggages.. But I think that it's common in London. Unless you're in a 4-5 star hotel. Nonetheless, I SO LOVE THE HOTEL. it's also near the train station. Few walks and I mean few walks...

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kleng L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

A group of us Americans call this B&B home for a week in late February for the past 6 years...The staff and owners are fantastic, very helpful with directions and what buses to take, and kind. Rooms are clean and beds are sooooo comfortable. Breakfast is basic, but plentiful and fresh.

My purse was stolen and I was BROKE and needed $150 to get a temporary passport after trip to Embassy, Friends were off on tour and I was going back & forth to the Embassy. Owner came to me and after listening left, came back with money and told me not to worry about paying back. Plus extra so that I wasn't broke after paying for passport. Brought tears that this man was so kind and a Friend. Of course He got his money back ASAP.
Last February airlines cancelled my & 2 friends flight the night before, could not fly out until the next day, Owners let us stay and did not charge for extra night....Where else would you get treated like this????

There's a great Pub next door and 2 blocks away is the best place for breakfast ever..Franks! Plus a great Persian restaurant YAZ...the Hummus is out of the world!

So do yourself a favor and stay here....

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DerrellAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Caring Hotel
#513 of 1,068 in London
780 reviews
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel - Brick Lane
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#724 of 1,068 in London
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammersmith / Fulham
Adria Hotel
Adria Hotel
#261 of 1,068 in London
706 reviews
East End / East London
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#580 of 1,068 in London
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Visitors Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Visitors Hotel

Property: London Visitors Hotel
Address: 42-44 Holland Road, London W14 8BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Hammersmith / Fulham
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — London Visitors Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your London Visitors Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Visitors Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing