We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice food, poor service from our waitress ruined the night”

Ark Fish Restaurant
Ranked #2,488 of 22,367 Restaurants in London
Price range: $0 - $74
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very nice food, poor service from our waitress ruined the night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Very nice food, poor service from our waitress ruined the night. She kept asking us what we wanted then either not returning for ages or looked around seemingly uninterested..

shame though, food was lovely

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NAV_WESTHAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    56
    28
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wilton Manors, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“By far the best restaurant in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I've eaten at this restaurant many times and have never had a bad meal. The portions are huge and very filling. The desserts are delicious too.
The car park is tiny but you can park on the street.
Only draw back; you can't make a reservation, so if you don't want to wait, get there early or late.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AjandMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The Ark - simply the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I plus members of our family have been in love with The Ark fish restaurant in South Woodford for many years and have always enjoyed our visits. Last Saturday was no exception. I had a gorgeous wing of skate and my husband was delighted with his large fillet of halibut. Before this we had tucked into two generous helpings of moules mariniere and shared a nice bottle of South African sauvignon blanc. The service was as usual friendly and prompt and you are greeted warmly on entering, always a plus on a cold wet miserable evening! Quite exceptional value and consistently excellent food. Yes we will be back - again and again.....

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catlover043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed after high hopes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

I have just returned from the ark after a Sunday evening meal. Unfortunately my reasonably high expectation were not met.
These are the things that didn't go too well
They forgot to tell us what was off the menu so we to reevaluate quickly once we knew
The monkfish tails were fried but remained very greasy
A pudding was removed before we had finished
The service was rushed, Sunday evenings the obviously want to go home, we were ushered out at 9 and were th last to leave
The decor is dated and unimaginative
The good...
Great mains, good wine ( reasonably priced) and impl but effective puddings
Cost £100 all in, too much for this evening, hopefully they were just having a bad service

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StuartJH1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Went to the Ark on Saturday afternoon. My wife had plaice on the bone and I had halibut. Both meals were absolutely fantastic. Simple food cooked to perfection and the best piece of halibut I have ever eaten (hence my review).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ark Fish Restaurant also viewed

Buckhurst Hill, Essex
London, England
 

Been to Ark Fish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing