We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class”

Ark Fish Restaurant
Ranked #2,439 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
Price range: $0 - $74
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Went to the Ark on Saturday afternoon. My wife had plaice on the bone and I had halibut. Both meals were absolutely fantastic. Simple food cooked to perfection and the best piece of halibut I have ever eaten (hence my review).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    56
    28
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

we visited this restaurant yet again . we just keep going back as it is so good !!
You have to give it a try fantastic !

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Davyjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“NO ELVIS BUT GREAT CHIP SHOP”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

I live within easy walking dustance so a no-brainer and a regular venue. I get there v early before the queues form. I would not like that. No booking, so a bit of a scrum for them.

Actually originally a restaurant outpost of Faulkner's fish and chip shop in Kingsland Road Hackney, possibly the best in London. Great fish menu, always fresh daily specials, and killer desserts including a super pavlova. Jolly staff.

The demographic can be less then ideal, but not in fact my neighbours. Some of the East End moneyed travel a distance to get there. Loud and rather ghastly. The place itself is fine.

I recommend, but not before I get there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

The food and service at this restaurant is second to none. Wide variety of fish dishes which are always of the highest quality. The staff are extremely pleasant and always very helpful. Highly recommended!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JMB001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“It does what it says on the tin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Grade A fish that cannot be faulted hence the price.
I can see what they are trying to do with the ambience......remember those old wooden table and chair back rooms that you used to get in "eat in " chippies.....but it doesn't really work.
But if you're looking for a fish and chip supper it cannot be faulted.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickiwinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ark Fish Restaurant also viewed

Buckhurst Hill, Essex
London, England
 

Been to Ark Fish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing