We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average in every way”
Review of Bolton's

Bolton's
Ranked #4,496 of 22,857 Restaurants in London
Price range: $49 - $98
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: City of London
Description: London's Bolton's Restaurant is a popular City haunt, offering a simple combination of fresh Italian flavours and laid back but stylish atmosphere. Tucked down a side road just off of Fenchurch Street, Bolton's has long been a favourite of the high powered bankers and businessmen of the local area, earning a reputation as a place to network and entertain. With its subtle hints of luxury and affluence the Bolton's dining room is unpretentious and timeless, very much like its cuisine. A tour of Italy's famous culinary regions, the Bolton's menu is hearty but elegant, every dish given the unique flavour of this high end restaurant through the use of good ingredients and stunning presentation.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Average in every way”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My Dover sole was fine and the veal chop of my lunch companion looked substantial. The vegetables were quite average. The service was reasonably good. The decor is old fashioned and a bit worn. The table linens were fresh. The biggest drawback for me is that it is in a basement, but that is not uncommon in central London. It is a business lunch place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    15
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Italian for business lunch in the city”
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Good quiet place for a business lunch, tables not too close together (i hate that), good for discussions. Service top notch. Food about average for this level, the dover sole was actually very good. Price reasonable. No real negatives, bit old fashioned decor, but i like that. I would recommend.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Juelsvej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Real touch of Italy in the City”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

First impressions were doubtful as the restaurant was surrounded by building work however as soon as I walked thru the main doors this was dispelled. A really buzzy atmosphere and really old fashioned Italian feel hit me. The service was impeccable, they are obviously used to getting people fed in their lunch hour!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Integrity21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Old fashion Italain Cuisine but tast was alright”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Had a lunch with my colleague. It was quite old fashioned the way of deco and the ways of guest being served, which I quite like. The portion of the dish is just huge which I cannot fish. The taste was good but not outstanding. The price is a little bit overpriced.

Over all 60 out of 100.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Hawkdai007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
865 reviews
428 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
“High End”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

This is a comfortable high end establishment. There were 4 in our party and we enjoyed wonderful shared appetizers and a variety of steaks that were cooked to perfection. The wine list was small but contained good classic quality. The homemade desserts were glorious in taste and presentation. Yes, it was pricey.....but worth it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Reasonable50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bolton's also viewed

 

Been to Bolton's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing