We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High End”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bolton's

Bolton's
Ranked #5,321 of 22,367 Restaurants in London
Price range: $49 - $98
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: City of London
Description: London's Bolton's Restaurant is a popular City haunt, offering a simple combination of fresh Italian flavours and laid back but stylish atmosphere. Tucked down a side road just off of Fenchurch Street, Bolton's has long been a favourite of the high powered bankers and businessmen of the local area, earning a reputation as a place to network and entertain. With its subtle hints of luxury and affluence the Bolton's dining room is unpretentious and timeless, very much like its cuisine. A tour of Italy's famous culinary regions, the Bolton's menu is hearty but elegant, every dish given the unique flavour of this high end restaurant through the use of good ingredients and stunning presentation.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
831 reviews
406 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“High End”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

This is a comfortable high end establishment. There were 4 in our party and we enjoyed wonderful shared appetizers and a variety of steaks that were cooked to perfection. The wine list was small but contained good classic quality. The homemade desserts were glorious in taste and presentation. Yes, it was pricey.....but worth it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Reasonable50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“One of the enduring classics”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

London has thousands of restaurant choices so why choose the same one time after time ? Simply consistent standards and friendliest welcome anywhere. Bolton's is in the right location for people in my business, so great to meet up with friends and colleagues, but this in itself would not be enough. The fact is the decor and buzzing atmosphere coupled with the superb staff set the right mood the minute you arrive. The food ,whilst not exceptional, is very good indeed. On my last visit I ate a superb fillet steak of very generous proportions and three of us too full for pudding did give in and try tiramisu for one with three spoons ! Delicious. Goes without saying that we will return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
292 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“A City fixture!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

I have been in this restaurant many many times. It truly is a very well established (and run) City institution. Located just off Leadenhall Market and 2 minutes walk from the Lloyd's Building this is a 'must go' restaurant if you are in this part of town. The staff have been there for years. They are always very friendly and if they know you they always make you feel very welcome and partake in a little bit of friendly banter! The menu is extensive and is always served to a high standard and the restaurant also has a very good wine list selection to suit all tastes...and pockets! The decor and furnishings are a little bit 80's if I am being honest but other than that you really can't fault this restaurant. Highly recommend.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 1879fulham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Fun - Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Went there as a group lunch last Friday. We had the seperate dining room and found the whole experiance very good. The Staff were really attentive. The menu choice was vast and would have suited my wife (vegetarian). I had the ravioli to start which could have been a meal in itself and the Chateau Briand to share - fantastic. We had the house wine which was good value and I felt very little pain.
The main resturant looked very nice with a nice atmosphere
Thoroughly recommend.
M

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrChipAdviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
222 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“A classic "old school" Italian that makes you feel very welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

I have used this restaurant many times - it is "old school" and serves classic italian food and drink - the Maitre'd makes you feel like an old friend and the service is great. No hesitation in reccomending if you are looking for an honest down to earth place with great food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank evelyninhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bolton's also viewed

 

Been to Bolton's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing