We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the Best Turkish food this side of Istanbul”
Review of Meze Mangal

Meze Mangal
Ranked #1,827 of 23,020 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $39
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Probably the Best Turkish food this side of Istanbul”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

...and definitely the best restaurant in SE London. There's nothing fancy here, this place is all about the food!

We've been frequenting this restaurant for many years and on trips back to London are always sure to pay a visit with a group of friends, hungry and ready to dig in for the long haul. The biggest attraction is the charcoal grill and oven which always deliver a mouth-watering ensemble of succulent meats.

For the best experience go with a group and book the table in the room at the back of the restaurant. A group is recommended, only so you can order a greater variety. We normally go light on the starters leaving plenty of space for the mains. The lamb chops are simply delicious while the flavours brought out in the adana kebab are truly worth savouring. The kop sis, delicate cubes of lamb have also got to be ordered. Enjoy your meal with some nice Turkish red and bread. Do also order the thinner bread, this will assist going the distance. They also serve a selection of fish and vegetarian dishes, after all every group has one.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr-Mrs-Sharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    89
    34
    25
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Not as good as the reviews....”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I came here, with six other family members as a result of the rave reviews of this website, and a supporting article in London's Evening Standard, (any direct references not allowed here,). I would suggest that you look at the picture on the front of the their website, which pretty well sums up this little Kebab house restaurant opposite Lewisham College. Service WAS very good, menu extensive, greasy,,,but not that good. BUT when the ratings are very high.......disppointment is sometimes experienced.......sometimes the ratings are floored. I dont know who eats here, but they clearly rate it highly. Perhaps its because South East London has few really good eating places......?

If you have a discerning palette, dont bother to eat here......and certainly try it out before taking friends with you. This is really a Kebab house with tables and chairs, and a few extra items on the menu.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank tflsjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“My favourite eatery in London”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I love this place. Behind a rather shabby facade (but the owner has big plans!) lies a fabulous restaurant that never fails to deliver a brilliant meal. I am boring so always have the same thing, a shish kebab which is unfailingly tender and delicious. My regular dining friend is more adventurous and has never had a duff dinner. Portion sizes are large. Everything is yummy. The selection of starters is huge and delicious - in fact on one occasion we couldn't manage our ordered main course! The bread is warm and tasty. We always have the local wine, Cankaya which is good value. We sometimes have the rice pudding which is a nice end to the meal. Service is great - we mostly want to chat and not talk to the (very nice) waiters and that's fine by them. They are happy to leave us for ages before ordering.
You will need to book. Some years ago, you could come here early or midweek and grab a table but it always seems to be busy now. A victim of its own success!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gorgeousgussieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“very tasty”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

On a theatre trip to London with my wife a local friend recomended this restaurant and it was great. Aliitle off the beaten tourist path but well worth it. The meze was simply delicious and had my taste buds tingling super place.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BARRY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile


had booked 2 months in advance for our saturday evening slot for 11. It was our yearly Xmas gather, it was buzzing, we had a mega feast which I highly recommend :
Mixed Meze with 5 hot starters (we were hungry) hot starters we chose were: hellim,calamari,lambs liver, quail and lahmacuns. Amazingly after we wiped the table clean, we felt like we needed a bit more hot food before we left, so we asked for a mixture of lamb and chicken Shish with Adana kofte platter to share in the middle.
We also had 2 rounds of beers and a large bottle of Turkish special RAKI. Finished up with a nice traditional Turkish tea.
How we left with only £35 a head amazes me.
We are also excitingly awaiting the extension next door to make this restaurant 120 seater.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tcemal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meze Mangal also viewed

 
London, England
 
Bromley, Greater London
London, England
 

Been to Meze Mangal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing