We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Lovely wood

We spend such a nice day here with friends. Cricket being played, kids playing on decent sized... read more

Reviewed September 9, 2017
Holzfrog
,
Surbiton, United Kingdom
via mobile
It’s a Park inside Forest.

This is among the best parks .Its in between Archway station and Muswell Hill. It’s 70 acres... read more

Reviewed June 21, 2019
sairamn
,
Bengaluru, India
via mobile
Read all 25 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around London
from $107.65
More Info
from $31.66
More Info
from $169.71
More Info
from $15.20
More Info
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveler rating
10
11
1
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
10
11
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews muswell hill dog walkers ancient woodland woods playground acres trees paths cricket
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 25 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2019

I have visited many Woods throughout the world, and in the UK which is famous for it's parks and which are well kept and organised, especially the Royal Parks. These woods, Highgate Woods, is a rough looking badly maintained (despite the numerous people in green uniforms walking & riding around on their little tractors.

As mentioned previously there are dangerous looking large dogs that I saw running loose without being kept on a lead, Rottweilers, Pit Bull Terriers, and Saint Bernards. Runners are running amok and you really do have to watch behind you to avoid being suddenly hit by the various runners, cyclists and dogs.
The playing feels is the main area where they play cricket and sit around on the grass and seems fairly well maintained, but it is really not a quiet woods , for a nice stroll. More for local neighbours to catch up on their local gossip and kind of cliquey if you know what I mean. The toilets as mentioned including the disabled are well kept, The Restaurant is well laid out but no table service like in Germany, and really the prices listed in their menu should include table service. I did not eat there.

Date of experience: August 2018
2  Thank savvy_travellerOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019

I liked Highgate Woods initially until I saw the pit bulls and large dogs running around quite aggressively and just about got run over by children on bicycles. Also the Restaurant prices in these premises are exorbitant , coffee always luke warm, packaged fare tastes very stale. Good toilets though!...

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank SavvyTraveler2019_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2019 via mobile

Highgate woods is a solitary place for dog walkers and people to enjoy their life. Here you can have some peace and rest. Lovely picnic places are available and the cafe is Good. Lots of things to do here and the staff is always happy to help. I always come here when I need some peace and quiet

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank Ice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

Seeing London by walk as best as possible was our motto. Walking brought us surprises and reached us to unknown corners of London; while striving to reach the destination.This time our destination was; Waterlow Park, Highgate Wood and Queens Wood.

Highgate Wood: From waterloo Park we walked through various streets / areas (Haringey-Highgate / Camden-Highgate ) including a lovely village; walking around approximately 7kms, to reach the beautiful Highgate Wood… Highgate Wood is an ancient Woodland in the north of London.The Woods spreads around an area of approximately 28 hectares and offers an excellent woodland trails with thick foliage of a specific varieties of tress all around and is open everyday from 7.30 am to 4.30 pm in winter and till 9.15 pm in summer. The thick wood with lots of huge trees has facilities for cricket, football and various other sports and events…We could see people playing football. There is a cafe and a good toilet facility is also available around.

Nearest Tube Station : High Gate Tube Station

When in London, one should definitely visit the ‘Highgate Wood’ and relax.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Santhosh9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2018

Highgate Wood is sandwiched between East Finchley, Highgate Village and Muswell Hill and with more than 70 acres of ancient woodland makes a delightful place for a peaceful walk at any time of the year.
There are oak, hornbeam and holly trees as well as the Wild Service tree which indicates ancient woodland. It is also teeming with life as you can see foxes, grey squirrels, 12 species of butterfly and 7 species of bat.
It also has a huge clearing in the centre for sports, with a football pitch and a cricket field, a children's playground and a nature trail for kids, as well as a cafe.
Delightfully peaceful, cool and quiet.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews