We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous rooms”
Review of Fox & Anchor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fox & Anchor
Ranked #39 of 572 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2009

I booked this hotel for my boyfriend's 30th birthday as I thought it would be a bit different from the typical hotel and the rooms on the Fox and Anchor's website looked stunning.

We arrived just after the check-in time and the room that I had booked was not ready as the previous guests had checked out late. This was a little annoying but a member of staff showed us an alternative room in case we didn't want to wait and we decided to go for that one instead. The room (St Barts) was stunning - large, comfortable bed, lovely contemporary but cosy decor and a lovely bathroom with roll top bath, rain shower and heated flooring. The room had a flat screen tv, BOSE sound system, safe, mini bar and a decent sized wardrobe.

We were getting ready to go out for dinner when we realised there was no water - not the hotel's fault as Thames Water had turned it off which apparently they had also done the weekend before- and a member of staff kindly arranged for a room at the next door Malmaison to be made available so we could shower there.

The hotel is close to Smithfield Market and unfortunately the noise of lorries delivering and picking up meat throughout the night is audible from the room and it did make falling asleep a little difficult. I was also woken up by a lorry's horn at about 4am. Not the hotel's fault but unfortunately this is a problem for the rooms located at the front of the hotel, maybe the rooms at the rear would be quieter.

The next morning we had breakfast in the pub which was great.

When we checked out the manager apologised for the problems with the lack of water (which was sorted out very quickly) and didn't charge us for breakfast by way of an apology which was generous given this wasn't the hotel's fault and they had done all they could to sort the problem out for us.

In summary, the rooms and gorgeous and a decent size, the staff are very helpful and friendly and the hotel offers something a bit different from your usual hotel. The downside to this is that some of the service you get with a hotel was missing, eg used glasses weren't replaced, the room wasn't ready when it should have been, and no bottle opener in the room for the bottles in the mini bar which meant we had to prise the lids off with a key.

These were minor gripes though and I would definitely go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClareB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 172 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2009

My partner and I stayed at The Fox & Anchor on a Saturday night - we were in St Barts, a beautiful room at the front of the pub.

Plus points - a stunning room and a huge and wonderful bathroom with a great monsoon shower and roll top bath. The bed was comfortable, design was sleek but cosy. We dined in the pub downstairs and had one of the best meals I can remember. The service was very friendly and attentive, and the wine especially was 10/10! The portions are huge, but everything is just so good. The bar staff were charming and very helpful when we were trying to choose a wine.

Negative points - booking was a bit of labour of love, I rang the reservation line on and off for a whole day before finally getting hold of someone. Some of the lights in our room weren't working, and the noise from the nightclub down the road was pretty disruptive. I know this isn't the Fox's fault, and we were in central London on a Saturday night, but it wasn't the most peaceful night's sleep. I would recommend requesting a room at the back of the building or bringing some ear plugs. That said, a long, lazy breakfast the next morning made up for it! Excellant coffee, more generous portions and service with a smile.

We loved the Fox despite the noise, and we've already been back since then for dinner with friends, and it impressed again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ditagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2008

My partner & I stayed in 'The Barbican' room for one night (a Friday) and overall were very pleased with the service level. As previous reviewers have mentioned, there are very narrow stairs to all bedrooms; the quieter rooms are positioned at the top/back. The facilities are excellent for the rate and location - fresh fluffy towels, luxurious toiletries, a mini-bar with all you can drink included (Coke, apple juice, beer, water) and a fantastically sized wide-screen TV/DVD player. We only had to stroll a short distance (nearest tube Barbican or Liverpool St for mainline) for West End connections. Few shortcomings - closet space is limited especially by ironing rack at top and a leaking pipe in bathroom floor when WC flushed (mentioned at check-out). We wanted a quieter venue for dinner so didn't try the in-house fare but the menu did sound appetising. Would definitely return again to this room on single night basis.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChocQueen6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

After reading many positive reviews in the national press we decided to try out the Fox and Anchor and were not disappointed. The location is perfect, tucked away but central enough to access all areas of London easily.The room we stayed in was fantastic (St.Pauls) everything you could possibly need was there - safe, mini fridge, iron + ironing board, internet connection etc. The rooms are a mixture of comtemporary/traditional and beautifully presented. We ate in the pub downstairs and the food was great, the service was friendly and we will definately be back to sample more of this little gem!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bobbieblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

We stayed at the fox and anchor over a July weekend. Good location and close to lots of bars, restaurants and coffee shops. We stayed in 'Barbican which is the smallest room but was comfortable, plush and had air conditioning. The only down side is the very steepclimb up a narrow flight of stairs to get to any of the rooms. As Barbican was on the top floor, we were both out of breath after lugging our suitcases up the steep stairs. Obviously B&B is not for the infirm or disabled.

We reallyenjoyed our stay but was annoyed when it turned out that the £95 rate advertised didn't actually include VAT, bringing the total over £100. I thought this was pretty sneaky of them.

I'drecommend the Fox and Anchor though as i thought it was good value and the room was identical to that of the Malmaison next door.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2008

I just returned from a four night stay in London at the Fox and Anchor with my husband.

The inn was easy to find and check in at Malmaison went fine. I was there a little before the official check in time and had to wait a few minutes to get my key. Once the room was ready someone walked me over. It is about 15 seconds away from the Malmaison. You are given a real key and there is only one. You can leave it at the Malmaison, the desk is open 24 hours.

If you are planning on staying here please be aware that there is NO ELEVATOR and STEEP NARROW STAIRS to climb. That is just a warning, not a compliant. I did get tired of stairs but that was because London is full of stairs.

We were given the Charterhouse room which is on the 2nd floor and looks over the front of the inn. It looked exactly like the website. But there are no room safes and no dressers, just a closet to hang your clothes in. I was a little worried about the lack of safe but we ended up carrying our valuables (camera and phone) with us and left our passports in the desk.

In the closet is a hair dryer, ironing board, kettle and cups, and extra towels. The fireplace in my photos painted on, just the mantle is real.

The bathroom was small and pretty but not practical. As you can see from the photos there is a warming towel rack, it is always on so be careful. When it came time to take a shower though the curtain circle isn't very big and we became entangled in the shower curtain and water was everywhere. Also there is no plug in for the hair dryer in the bathroom. Luckily my hair pretty much does the same thing and didn't require a lot of brushing, but I can see it being a problem. I don’t know what the other rooms’ shower situation is but I suggest asking when you book.

We stayed a Friday through Monday. I don't recommend staying here on a Friday or Saturday just yet. There are several pubs near the Fox and Anchor and they can be very loud and people are allowed to stand outside a pub and drink, not a good combination. Friday and Saturday we needed to close our bedroom windows to block out the noise, but since it had been very warm those days our room was too warm. We tried the AC but couldn't make it turn on. Sunday we asked the hotel to look at it and show us how to make it work. Turns out there was a blown fuse, but it didn't matter -- the pubs are closed on Sundays. We were about to sleep with our windows open the next two days. Don't misunderstand -- if the AC had been working I wouldn't have worried about the noise and the management is trying to work with the pub making all the noise. I think the two establishments are just getting used to each other.

We did eat at the Fox and Anchor twice, once on the first day and breakfast on our last day. You can charge to the room and everyone working at the Fox and Anchor as super friendly. On Friday I had the steak pie – it is a dish with steak and gravy in it with a crust over it. It was okay, but my husband really liked his hamburger. Monday we had breakfast and I had eggs benedict with smoked salmon it was very good and filling. My husband had the full English breakfast and really liked it too, but his over easy eggs were cooked through. The sausage made up for it though.

The neighborhood around the Fox and Anchor was nice with a lot of places to eat breakfast and both the Barbican and Farrington tube stations are close by.

We would stay again but would ask to be moved to a room in the back.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MNSukie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Florence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
The Rookery Hotel
The Rookery Hotel
#234 of 1,078 in London
562 reviews
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Hotel
The Zetter Hotel
#186 of 1,078 in London
897 reviews
City of London
London City Suites By Montcalm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
The Bull & The Hide
The Bull & The Hide
#51 of 572 in London
172 reviews
Holborn
The One Tun
The One Tun
#52 of 572 in London
76 reviews
Belgravia
The Lord Milner
The Lord Milner
#15 of 572 in London
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox & Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox & Anchor

Address: 115 Charterhouse Street, London EC1M 6AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 572 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $195 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in the lively & exciting Smithfield area, the former original London gin-joint has been lovingly restored to its former glory and a whole lot more as well. The Fox & Anchor originates from the late Victorian era and has been serving the traders of Smithfield market for years. Grand mahogany doors, etched glass and heavy brass, we serve great British food alongside our favourite cask ales & craft beers. With 6 traditional rooms all with their own unique differences, the eclectic range of rooms are a hidden gem in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fox & Anchor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox & Anchor Hotel London
Fox And Anchor
Fox & Anchor London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing