We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Londons best kept secrets”
Review of Fox & Anchor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fox & Anchor
Ranked #37 of 565 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed here on a Bank Holiday Monday & was greeted by a very friendly guy who let us drop our bags off early. Staff were super friendly & the room was flawless. The photos on their website do not do them justice. Sky TV & free wifi as free extras! Had a 3 course meal and cannot fault the food nor the service. A great evening and stay over. Would highly recommend. Would love to try the Market Suite if I stayed again as that was already booked up.

Room Tip: The market suite was unfortunately booked up, but we stayed in the Smithfield room & cannot faul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraJaneBrown25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 169 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed here on 2 April 2014 and absolutely LOVED it. The pub is traditional, full of character and has a great, lively and warm feel to it. From the moment of arrival , the experience was faultless. The key for the Hotel room was acquired from the owner/manager, who was welcoming, approachable and helpful. Of the bar staff, we found everyone to be polite and friendly, but Liam particularly stood out. Nothing was too much trouble for him and any requests were met with complete enthusiasm and professionalism.
As for the room, we were lucky enough to stay in the Market Suite. Needless to say we wanted to move in permanently! Everything about the room oozes good taste and luxury. Extremely well thought-out suite , of optimum comfort. It is hard to isolate a favourite part of the suite, as it is so well equipped , and of course we wouldn't have wanted it any other way. However, the 'Fabulous', Copper Bath , has to get a special mention. You may think calling a bath Fabulous is extreme, but until you try it, you may not understand! Oh and then there is the awesome, drench shower...... A repeat visit is definitely in order!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Market Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Unbiased0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We ate here on Sunday evening inMarch. Get here before eight to order, lots of small den like rooms at the back, perfect for a party of four, six or eight. Or two! We had fish pie and sausage and lentil stew and both were delicious as was the spinach and leek side dish. It was fairly quiet as it was a Sunday evening but at other times we have eaten here in the week and it is very lively. Suggest you book. An old traditional pub, messed about with decor wise, next to Smithfield market, small but surprisingly roomy. Nice friendly service, unobtrusive but made sure you had everything you needed. Would recommend and visit again.
Did not stay in the hotel, just ate at the restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jackiesumerfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for his birthday in 2013, the room is beautiful and the location is amazing.
We called up again this year for a repeat booking as it was so good, but on the phone the staff were rude and unfriendly. I asked the price of the room and on given a higher price than the website I said " that is too much" which was met with "oh well..." Then when I said it was higher than the website he asked me to wait while he went to serve people in the bar. There is NO WAY! I am waiting when looking to spend over £100 - £200 for one night. So no, I would not recommend this place as customer service is as, if not more, important than the room itself. Do Not Stay Here.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bengrins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

An absolute gem of a hotel, tucked away and waiting to be discovered. We were blown away by the service, suite, and entire experience had at Fox & Anchor. Separate from the inviting pub next door, our suite was simply impeccable - a gorgeous stand alone bath, luxurious king size bed and even our own little courtyard + table set, upon which we enjoyed breakfast after an excellent night's sleep. The room itself was clean, inviting and homely - a perfect getaway and one that we are very much looking forward to visiting again. Couldn't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benhansenhicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Had an enjoyable meal with good food, pleasant service. We were looked after without feeling pestered, and enjoyed all the food. The only criticism would be that at 13:00 they had already run out of one of the desserts from the menu.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank NSL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Contemplating a romantic surprise for my loved one and looking for a luxurious room with a free standing bath which has a lot of character, staying in the suite room in Fox and Anchor was a success for me.

You can walk from Covent Garden and 20 min later 'accidentally' end up in this pub which does look nothing like a hotel. This has guaranteed the surprised face of my husband when I handed him the key after we finished our beers.

Most out of the six rooms have a free standing coper bath. I picked the largest room facing the quiet back side of the building - The Market Suite to stay in. It has spacious open plan layout connecting three rooms. There is also a private terrace to this room. A huge bathroom with a grand roll-top free standing coper bath, walk-in rain shower and his and hers coper sinks lined up with Miller Harris toiletries. The room has TWO 42" plasma TVs, TWO Bose sound systems (even with two great Van Morrison CDs ready in the player), Wifi, very comfy king size bed with Egyptian cotton lining, heavy velvet curtains... Simply amazing.

Food is excellent too. We had Eggs Royal for breakfast and enjoyed the right kick of their freshly grounded coffee.

Thumbs up. This place is of a very unique character mixing pub and luxury in one. The owner is a legend.

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying extra £40 pounds to get The Market Suite. It is a very quiet room facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
The Rookery Hotel
The Rookery Hotel
#163 of 1,075 in London
557 reviews
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#247 of 1,075 in London
1,526 reviews
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Hotel
The Zetter Hotel
#183 of 1,075 in London
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Townhouse Clerkenwell
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#423 of 1,075 in London
679 reviews
City of London
London City Suites By Montcalm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox & Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox & Anchor

Address: 115 Charterhouse Street, London EC1M 6AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 565 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $198 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in the lively & exciting Smithfield area, the former original London gin-joint has been lovingly restored to its former glory and a whole lot more as well. The Fox & Anchor originates from the late Victorian era and has been serving the traders of Smithfield market for years. Grand mahogany doors, etched glass and heavy brass, we serve great British food alongside our favourite cask ales & craft beers. With 6 traditional rooms all with their own unique differences, the eclectic range of rooms are a hidden gem in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fox & Anchor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox & Anchor Hotel London
Fox And Anchor
Fox & Anchor London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing