We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good old-fashioned plus smartish London pub”
Review of Fox & Anchor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fox & Anchor
Ranked #47 of 555 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good old-fashioned plus smartish London pub”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had lunch, starting outside but then moving in as April seems still to be winter.The menu was good - we had carrot soup and welsh rarebit and both were fine. The soup arrived with slices of fresh baguette and (too!) generous butter.

The inside is interesting as there are several small sections where a small group can just have a private time. Staff were reasonably friendly and helpful - although this of course does depend on how you treat them!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cor-player
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    49
    12
    8
    3
See reviews for
11
82
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I found this place in a lovely boutique book which featured other places I know & love.
Unfortunately the F&A will not become one.

It all started well.. I arrived early and, although I was told I couldn't check in, they did look after my bag whilst I went to get a coffee (with hindsight I did have to suggest this, so perhaps this was a sign of things to come)

On checking in I was allowed to choose my room, whilst they did all look lovely I was told "the ones at the front are noisy due to the pub and adjoining club" and "the ones at the back are always noisy due to fans".... Hearing the fans I opted for a room at the front & it's fair to say every night was noisy and you're woken early by deliveries & emptying bottles.

Despite asking on check in about payment, (and being told they'd taken payment on my card) mid way through the week there was a note to see the manager about payment. eager to get ready for my theatre performance i made a mental note to pop in to the bar on my way out & jumped in to the shower. the duty manager saw fit to knock on my door NON STOP and ring the room phone until eventually I got out if the shower, threw on some underwear & answered the door to what I assumed must be an emergency. Totally unacceptable. Complained in writing on departure & have received an email apology which apologises for the note being left due to a prior guest leaving without paying (but no apology for the harassment)

On checkout I was mischarged. I emailed my booking confirmation and asked for a refund, only to be told the rates have gone up. I've put my foot down and demanded a refund which I'm told is "being processed" whatever that means.

I didn't eat here as it wasn't convenient for my plans... Looked ok but the bar is quite dingy and not to my taste.

Overall there are far nicer places to stay, with better customer service. Nice rooms ruined by location, inexperience and arrogance.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moneypennyjennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Having spent Friday night with little sleep at the Natural History Museum we arrived at the Fox and Anchor hoping to check in early, I has spoken to the staff previously and they said they would do their very best... which they did and we checked in before lunch. The Market Suite is superb , clean and stylish with great little touches. The area around the hotel is great and there are some hidden gems when you just wander about.
The large Copper bath in the Suite is amazing and fills very quickly and the water if piping.
On Sunday we had the Sunday lunch, this was great, the pub was packed, the service fantastic and the atmosphere, with some lazy Sunday Jazz, was great. The food was excellent and YOU MUST try the home made scotch egg.
All in all this Inn ( which is the type of feel it has) is a real find and I am sure we will be back soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2013

When I originally booked I selected a particular room and was told that it wouldn't be a problem as there were currently no other bookings. I emailed a couple of days before our booking to check if this was still ok, only to be told that they had given the room to someone else! When we arrived I spoke to the Manager and they kindly offered us a free breakfast the next morning. The room was nice but not as nice as the original room I had wanted to stay in.
The worst part of the stay was yet to come... We were kept up until 4am from loud music from the bar opposite. I called the night service line to complain and was told that it was a weekend so what did I expect! What I expected was to be warned that they would be loud music played until the early hours, if I was told this in advance I would not have spent nearly £200 for 2 hours sleep! Would not recommend this hotel to anyone unless they were an insomniac.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the Charterhouse room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatCthulhu
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My favorite pub in London also offers swank and amazingly affordable rooms. Come for the great English pub food and stay for the tubs and super-comfortable beds in what I think is the most interesting part of London: Smithfield/Clerkenwell, oozing with history, architecture, ghosts and narrow, evocative streets straight out of Dickens. Fox and Anchor's interior is immaculately restored late Victorian that feels like the England Americans like me always dream about. The rooms are large and comfortable and though some have complained about the noise, was never a problem for me.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreatCthulhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We came across this great little pub by chance as our hotel room in the Malmaison next door wasn't ready. We had an hour to kill so just nipped in for a quick drink but felt so relaxed there we stayed for lunch. The barman kindly found us a table towards the back which suited us as we had our 4 month old daughter with us. Before we knew it our drink and food order had been taken - I opted for the 'chicken&ham' pie and my wife had the 'steak pudding & mash'. Both were excellent and I washed mine down with a couple of pints of light ale. There are lots of nooks&crannies to hide away in for a quiet drink and the pub has real character. Overall the service was very good and I'd certainly go back; the waitress actually said that the “the foxes” famous smithfield burger is her favourite as the meat comes from over the road so next time I'm in town......

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoppyAlice25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were attending a "special" function at the Habberdashers Hall and I was looking for a hotel that was different to the usual London stop overs. The Fox and Anchor is actually a pub with six themed bedrooms and is pretty much opposite Billingsgate Market in Smithfield. It was a great experience, and old world pub, great food and very comfortable room - although my wife had to take her high heels off to negotiate the stairs. Very friendly people made it complete. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: I am sure all rooms would be as good as the one we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sankey1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
The Rookery Hotel
The Rookery Hotel
#164 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Townhouse Clerkenwell
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#267 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Hotel
The Zetter Hotel
#101 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Holborn
The One Tun
The One Tun
#67 of 555 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Clerkenwell
The Clerk & Well Pub
The Clerk & Well Pub
#58 of 555 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox & Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox & Anchor

Property: Fox & Anchor
Address: 115 Charterhouse Street, London EC1M 6AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in London
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in the lively & exciting Smithfield area, the former original London gin-joint has been lovingly restored to its former glory and a whole lot more as well. The Fox & Anchor originates from the late Victorian era and has been serving the traders of Smithfield market for years. Grand mahogany doors, etched glass and heavy brass, we serve great British food alongside our favourite cask ales & craft beers. With 6 traditional rooms all with their own unique differences, the eclectic range of rooms are a hidden gem in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fox & Anchor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox & Anchor Hotel London
Fox And Anchor
Fox & Anchor London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing