We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous bathroom”
Review of Fox & Anchor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fox & Anchor
Ranked #38 of 558 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Gorgeous bathroom”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Just stayed at the Fox & Anchor, in the St Pauls room which was lovely with the most gorgeous bathroom. Pub has some excellent ales on draught and nice wines too. Evening meal was a little disappointing to be honest but the breakfast was good. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: St Pauls is a lovely room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RnA31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    53
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
11
86
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wells-next-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Stayed with my daughter for one night in the Market Suite. Warm welcome on arrival, lovely, spacious, comfortable room. Fantastic food in bustling restaurant and best breakfast I have had in a long time! Biggest compliment goes to the staff all of whom gave the highest standards of customer service - nothing was too much trouble. Will be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

I visited the F&A for the first time in years yesterday.........and I'm booked to get back there asap.....this used to be a great breakfast pub for meeting colleagues pre cricket days etc...
Met an associate there y/day for a biz breakfast - great atmosphere, Rob is a great host, great value, great food. Well done F&A

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bogueyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I spent two nights in the Market suite for my wedding.
The room is nicely decorated and large.
On walking into the room there is the beautiful bathroom with two copper sinks and large copper bath plus large shower. There is a separate toilet room.
At the other end of the bathroom there is a living room with corner sofa and flat screen tv, table. Off this room there is a roof deck with table and chairs.
At the far end is the bedroom with a UK super king (US king) bed which was very comfortable. Wardrobe, flat screen tv, fridge.
Air con in the room, iron, ironing board, kettle etc. Nice toiletries.
The room was clean.
Staff were very helpful and accommodating. I spent the night before my wedding here and got ready here with mother, mother in law and maid of honour. There was plenty of space for us to get our hair and make up done. Staff kindly brought up the visitors etc we had during the day and when we required items assisted in our request.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Italian_kilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Stayed in this gastro pub on Saturday Night so we could go out for a meal with some friends. Room very nice and trendy especially the bathroom. However returned at 1.00am to find club opposite in full swing, no mention of this when checking in. Music continued loudly until approx 3.30am so no sleep for us!! Tried to call night porter to see if we could move to back of pub, we was in Barts Room, but no anwser to phone call.
Would only recommend this pub if you a) can sleep through loud music or b) are visiting the club opposite then you can fall out of club into pub!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen_Suffolk210101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Sunday Lunch - Carrot and Corriander Soup followed by Roast Beef Dinner whilst listening to Live Music Classic - Not forgetting the Corriander Beer

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dyna79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We have stayed at the Fox and Anchor 3 times. The location is superb in the heart of London. The first time westayed there I could nit fault it. The second time we stayed there - there was no heating in the room, the tele didn't work, the skylight made the room fill with light in the morning. The breakfast was cooked in meat juices ( my husband is veggie). The manager gave us a free night as a result. We went back to have a rest and some time off from parenting in April. As we went to bed the party next door in a restaurant started. It was a Sat night - again the heating controls didn't work - I told the manager downstairs and also said the side lights weren't working in the room. He did nothing. This meant - the room was boiling. This meant we had to have the windows open. This meant the party raging outside our window til 5 a.m. Or was it later ? ( it was dawn certainly) - KEPT US AWAKE til dawn!!!! I phoned the reception a number of times - this was the Malmaison reception in the neighbouring hotel. So basically no-one was in the hotel at all to help or care. I requested to move rooms - but was told I couldn't. Do not stay here if you want to sleep. I have written to the hotel to complain - they have not replied so that is why I am posting this. Totally appalled at the terrible service!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Campbellmoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
The Rookery Hotel
The Rookery Hotel
#141 of 1,069 in London
543 reviews
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#263 of 1,069 in London
1,488 reviews
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Hotel
The Zetter Hotel
#123 of 1,069 in London
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Townhouse Clerkenwell
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#411 of 1,069 in London
659 reviews
Holborn
The One Tun
The One Tun
#55 of 558 in London
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox & Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox & Anchor

Property: Fox & Anchor
Address: 115 Charterhouse Street, London EC1M 6AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 558 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in the lively & exciting Smithfield area, the former original London gin-joint has been lovingly restored to its former glory and a whole lot more as well. The Fox & Anchor originates from the late Victorian era and has been serving the traders of Smithfield market for years. Grand mahogany doors, etched glass and heavy brass, we serve great British food alongside our favourite cask ales & craft beers. With 6 traditional rooms all with their own unique differences, the eclectic range of rooms are a hidden gem in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fox & Anchor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox & Anchor Hotel London
Fox And Anchor
Fox & Anchor London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing