We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea”
Review of Dalloway Terrace

Dalloway Terrace
Ranked #691 of 24,837 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Bloomsbury
Description: Named after the eponymous character created by Virginia Woolf, an author whose name will forever be associated with Bloomsbury, Dalloway Terrace is an elegant, poetic and quintessentially English space. With its fully retractable roof and lower terrace lined with buxus hedging to give privacy, Dalloway terrace is London's best kept secret. Open from 8am daily, guests can join for a light breakfast, brunch and all day favourites. Alternatively, the small plate menu available from 11am daily is the perfect accompaniment to a crisp glass of wine or stiff drink for those looking to escape and impress in equal measure.
Reviewed November 17, 2016 via mobile

Had a lovely afternoon tea with friends here. What a surprise to walk into a beautiful winter wonderland - we really were not expecting that and it was gorgeous! The perfect setting for the delicious sandwiches, cakes and scones.

Sandwich selection had a good variety with an open-topped sandwich and a brioche roll complimenting the traditional finger sandwiches. A huge variety of cakes - too many to eat were delicious and the scones fresh, light and warm. Plentiful tea too!

Staff were attentive without being at all overbearing. It was really lovely and great value. Much enjoyed.

Thank Caz160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielecapobianco, Food and Beverage Manager at Dalloway Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2016

Dear Caz160,
Thank you so much for sharing your Afternoon Tea experience at Dalloway Terrace.
I am glad you loved our winter decorations, it feels like walking into a magical world.
I will pass your kind comments to the Chef and to our Front of House team, they will be pleased to hear you had an amazing time with us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Daniele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (532)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

373 - 377 of 532 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2016

This was a hen do treat for my now sister in law and wow what a treat it was. We all had the Sparkling Afternoon Tea for £40 which is not cheap but you do get a lot for your money and it is a wonderful experience. We were led through the very posh and decadent Bloomsbury hotel out to the terrace which is enclosed and so beautifully decorated. There are patio heaters out there to keep you all warm and there are fairy lights strung about the ceilings. It was a lovely setting for tea.

For the sandwiches there was ham & mustard and egg, both on normal bread. The bread was soft and fresh and the fillings were tasty. Then we had chicken salad in a little brioche bun which was lovely and different. The bun was again soft and fresh and the chicken was well cooked and full of flavour. There was then a smoked salmon mouse on an open sandwich with a decoration of celery. It was all so beautifully presented.

There were two scones each; one plain and one with sultanas. These are the most delicious scones I have ever eaten. They were still warm and were so moist. They were really large and so moreish. There were small bowls of clotted cream and jam and there was more provided very quickly when we asked for them.

The cakes and treats were really something to look at. We had a chocolate mouse cake, a chocolate and cream eclair, panacotta with fruit sauce and biscuit pieces, a cheesecake with fruit and meringue topping and a mango tart. Oooooh yummy, is the best way to describe all of these. Each sweat treat was a delight to eat.

We each had a pot of tea (which can be refilled) and a glass of sparking wine. There was more than enough food and drink for us all.

The service was fast and attentive but not overdone. The toilets are very posh and very clean. This is a treat, not a regular thing (but if I was a lady of leisure it could become regular, he he :-) ) but you do feel special like you've had a time to remember so I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for somewhere special to go for a celebration.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lupie_L00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielecapobianco, Food and Beverage Manager at Dalloway Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2016

Dear Lupie_L00,
I cannot thank you enough for your amazing review, Thank you for sharing your experience at Dalloway Terrace.
You have captured what we are all about: great food, fresh ingredients and relaxed yet attentive friendly service.
I will share your review with our kitchen and front of house team, they will be as delighted as I am.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Daniele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2016

Food was good, the service was excellent but what really really sells this place is the outside space when the weather is good. Take your sunglasses as one of you will be dazzled by the sun at lunch but a great place to chill out, eat well and relax.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HVD_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielecapobianco, Food and Beverage Manager at Dalloway Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2016

Dear HVD_12,
Thank you for sharing your experience at Dalloway Terrace. I am glad you loved the space and the service!
Dalloway Terrace has now a Winter Feel, you should come and have a look as I am sure you will be impressed by our winter decorations.
Luxury chocolate cocktails and Fondues are the perfect way to enjoy winter while approaching Christmas, you will not be disappointed.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Daniele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2016

Since a long time we wanted to experience a real british tea. We booked at this place, and for 30 GBP we got a large serving of sandwiches, scones and sweets, in addition to a pot of tea. Very elegant and nice, yet relaxed and not stale environment. Could choose between outside and inside.Experience I plan to repeat!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AndreaPortante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielecapobianco, Food and Beverage Manager at Dalloway Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2016

Dear AndreaPortante,
Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our Traditional Afternoon Tea. I will pass the comments to our team, they will be pleased.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Daniele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2016

Having eaten here before i can say that, apart from being one of the most beautiful places to dine, I am always blown away by how amazing the staff are at Dalloway Terrace, they really try to accommodate your every need (where possible of course!) and of course once seated, drinks were already underway.

We were treated to the most delicious Soft shell Crab, Steak Tartare and Oyster starters which we sat and ate cozily with the lovely blankets provided for each of us. There was a fitting break between the starters and the main and in such a setting its so easy to forget that your out for a meal and by the time we realized it our mains had arrived! We went for the grilled options from the menu, Tiger Prawns with Harissa aioli and the White Chicken, lemon & rosemary and ended our evening with the delicious Valrhona & pecan nut slice with salted caramel ice cream, the creamy Apple crumble and delicious cups of Coffee.

Definitely a place to visit if you're in London, it's such a special place and the dining experience is always spectacular!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank zarete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielecapobianco, Food and Beverage Manager at Dalloway Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2016

Dear zarete M,
I am blown away by your outstanding review! Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Dalloway Terrace. I am glad you loved our service, food and drinks. I will pass the comment to our teams , they will be delighted.
All our ingredients are of the highest quality and prepared fresh daily by our chefs just like our desserts.
Come and check out our Winter Dalloway, you will love it.
We are looking forward to seeing you soon.
Kind regards,
Daniele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dalloway Terrace also viewed

 

Been to Dalloway Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing