We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid”
Review of Circo Restaurant - CLOSED

Circo Restaurant
Price range: $4 - $50
Cuisines: Contemporary, Wine Bar
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Poor all round. Went on a Living Social and was still poor value! The service was shocking! Our waiter made multiple mistakes and forgot drinks and side orders! Food was poor! Worst steak ever! It was pure fat! So much so the manager noticed how bad it was and brought a cocktail over to compensate! Will never return here!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Flyer1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Circo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

John was the Manager on duty that evening and touched base with many customers to check on quality of food and service.

I'm aware he noticed you didn't enjoy your steak and offered a drink as a gesture of good will but suprised you didn't enjoy as we normally get good feedback in relation this dish.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (921)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

863 - 867 of 921 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

We went for lunch the food was average and there was a smell of last nights booze/sick still ingering in the air.

2  Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Circo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

We ensure our venue is cleaned on a daily basis so it is at the highest standard of hygiene, did you inform anybody of your concerns or feelings on the day? Our management team perform daily opening checks to ensure this doesn't happen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

this must be the worst restaurant in liverpool , i dine there on sunday 18th the food was atrocious
the place smells of disinfectant , we left every thing we order , staff smoking at the entrance , furniture broken and dirty dirty table and glasses dirty gents and ladies toilette have no locks , the menu is the worst thing no choice of any decent food . lots of staff around but no one care to ask as if every thing is ok !!!! we went there after a recommendation from friends that were there on friday night and said how nice was the food ,
and service ,a place that we will never return .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Scouzewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Circo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

I'm sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience. Can I ask did you make it known to anybody you were unhappy? What dishes did you have in particular? Can you tell me a description of the staff member that served you? We have a strict complaints procedure and will certainly look into this for you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Mum and i visited circo today, the 18th march, for afternoon tea. We had a groupon voucher which was an excellent deal. The lady on reception was polite and found our booking and we had a fab table overlooking the albert dock. The waitress asked our preference for champagne or a cocktail and we had champagne..lovely! We had sandwhiches, cakes and tea...all fresh and tasty.The waitress was very polite, professional and cannot be faulted.
After reading negative reviews on here i was worried that it wasnt going to be a good afternoon but it was fine...more than fine...really good! The only teeny criticism is that the toilets are male and female together which my mum and i didnt like...wish they were separate, nevermind.
The staff were good, food tasty, atmosphere just right, location excellent. Give circo a go i hope that you enjoy xx

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank maudkidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Circo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

We at Circo are really pleased to hear you enjoyed the experience and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Having read some bad reviews, saying the food was like Iceland stuff I'd have to say this is definitely not the case. The food was fresh, of a high quality and well presented. We were on a living social voucher, we had the Brie and the spring roll starter. The Brie was to die for!! Then the lamb and fillet steak main, possibly the tastiest thing I've eaten for a while. And cheesecake pudding, defo not frozen rubbish! Will go again, not on voucher. And special thanks to our waiter, very attentive and polite, great customer service. We were the last ones in but were not rushed at all. Polite staff, gorgeous food, quality location! Can't wait for my next visit :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Leannepog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Circo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Really nice to hear good feedback, I'll pass on your thanks to the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Circo Restaurant also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing