We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If this is Greek food .... I'll stick to toast!”
Review of Zorbas

Zorbas
Ranked #190 of 1,707 Restaurants in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Liverpool
london
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“If this is Greek food .... I'll stick to toast!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Lovely owner, very friendly
Shame about the dishes:
Feta solid, pickled squid = pure vinegar, Haloumi like rubber, spiced sausages so heavy in cinnamon it burnt my tongue, battered calamari tasteless ..... All so bad we couldn't face the kofte and shish.
Worst meal I have had in many years.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank tabithacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    62
    26
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food, great value”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Have been coming to Zorba's for many years. It is not glamorous inside, paper table cloths, and plain crockery and cutlery etc, but it is clean and the food is fantastic.
My favourite is greek salad to start then kleftico. You just get rice and chips to accompany your main course, as well as lovely hot bread.
The food is very fresh and I have never had a bad meal yet.
For starters, main course and a glass or two of wine it has usually come to about £20.
Love it !

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greater manchester, england
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“good little find”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

went here after many times walking past it. its dated in its appearance however for me thats it character. it was clean and tidy and upon entry there was about ten others in. i imagine something like this in the back in its native cyprus. ok, food, had a mixed meze for two at 15 quid a head. it was certainly value for money. we had two small greek beers at 2.50 each (bottled) very nice it was too. food came in four stages and consisted of pitta bread, a large soft roll, taramsalata, humous and tahini dips to start. then next was greek salad, meatballs in tomato sauce, dolmades. next, spicy sausages and a different style of meatball, then to finish, lamb chops and pork kebabs. food was nice. nothing out of the ordinary, just simple food done well. my only gripe was the salad was over dressed and the leaves was just a simple iceberg. i expected something a little more glam, but the feta was awesome. we had a side order of gigantes beans added to our list of goodies which really was good. in total the bill was 39 quid. we tipped and thought it was well worth the money we paid. i would expect this would be a great place to go with a group and have a chat while the different courses are brought through the duration of the evening. would i go back, yes.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sean-seany-sean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Homemade - nice”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Very nice homemade food - you can see the cook while he is cooking. Good atmosphere, good service. We came very late and it was no problem.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HanneLykke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“lovely food”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

love this place, a firm favourite.
lovely attentive staff, authentic greek cuisine, probably best Greek restaurant in Liverpool

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank julieparr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zorbas also viewed

 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Zorbas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing