We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Brunch”
Review of Alma De Cuba

Alma De Cuba
Ranked #76 of 1,707 Restaurants in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $38
Cuisines: Cuban, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: 5 minutes walk from Liverpool Central Station
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

What a fabulous venue, excellent food, lovely staff, great lunch. Loved the Gospel Group they really made the occasion special and I will definitely return here

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    881
    420
    191
    84
    103
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great for overpriced drinks and long queues”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

If you like expensive cocktails, dressing up to the 9's, squinting through the dark, and queuing for ages then this place really is for you. Few places can rival it in that respect.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

It took a while to find it but the food and service was amazing! We thought it was a little dark inside but once you adjusted it just added to the experience - Fabulous

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SWR_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“alma de cuba, you have my vote”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

great venue, best to be In there when its busy to get the real atmosfear.
great décor, building looks awesome lit up at night, thoroughly recommend it.
cocktails great, food excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank britsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great decor, atmosphere and of course food”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Decided to go for something to eat with a friend who had a few hours to kill on a Wed evening. Made a reservation for 9. Wasn't too many people in when we got there and luckily the bar was relatively quiet below (i hate too much noise when eating, my pet hate with many trendy bar/restaurants) skipped on starters to save room for dessert. Had the sirloin steak which the waitress advised i had medium as opposed to my usual medium rare, which i was glad of as it was cooked to perfection. For dessert i had a choc brownie with pistachio ice cream, which was lovely and would easily have done two as a sharer. Only fault in my eyes is the price very expensive for a restaurant surrounded by student bars and run down buildings as the cost soon racks up by the time you've added a few sides to go with your main. Once inside though the ambiance is great with the antler chandeliers and strategic use of candles. Better suited to a romantic evening in my eyes than a catch up with a mate(s).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PeeDunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alma De Cuba also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Alma De Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing