We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Atmosphere Good Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tavern Company

The Tavern Company
Ranked #95 of 1,651 Restaurants in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Irish, Mexican, American, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
East England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Atmosphere Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

The best place for breakfast in Liverpool, great atmosphere and great food. Yes it can get extremely busy specially on a weekend but if you come prepared and with good company the half hour wait flies by. The staff are always friendly and making sure you're happy, only issue I had was that it was extremely hot inside the restaurant had to ask for water because we were all sweating. Fully recommend the full english, great lincolnshire sausages and they don't mind if you want to replace an item on your breakfast.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tomwoodcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    202
    111
    61
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Not quite what I was hoping.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We came here on the recommendation of a friend from Liverpool for some high-calorie, filling hangover breakfasts. It was very busy and we ended up waiting to be seated for about half an hour or so. Now, I understand that you should expect a wait for a busy, popular restaurant, but maybe they could have given menus to customers whilst they wait, which would have given us something to do and sped up the whole process for customers already seated.

The menu is great - a little more than your average 'full English', which tends to be the only thing on offer, other than toast, if you're wanting to go out for breakfast anywhere. Sadly, the food didn't really live up to my expectations. I ordered the 'American': 2 eggs, 2 rashers of bacon, baked beans, home friend potatoes, a warm pancake with maple syrup and toast. After a long wait for someone to actually take our order, and an equally long wait for it to be brought out, I decided not mention the fact that it came out without the pancake or syrup. Really couldn't be bothered to wait for it. Saying this, the rest of the meal was great - especially the home fried potatoes, which were really tasty. My friends seemed to enjoy their breakfasts - though the 'eggs benny' was a little towards the cold side apparently. Free tea and coffee refills is a great idea, and they come around on regular intervals to top you up.

The food is well priced (£3 for pancakes and syrup. £6 or so for the 'American') and there's a lot of choice.

Saying all this, I would probably still come back and give it another go - maybe when it's a little less busy? The atmosphere was lively and there was a really buzz and I think most of the bad points were due to just how busy it was. Perhaps I'll go for dinner on a week night.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yummy Sunday brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Had the breakfast with a friend here on a Sunday morning. Had to wait a little while for a table but not too long. The table we ate at was in a well-lit and well-decorated area. Very much enjoyed never running out of coffee as the waiters are always walking around with pots of tea and coffee to keep your mug filled. I had the Mexican breakfast and found it very satisfying: flour tortillas, scrambled eggs and veg with corn nachos crumbled on top. There was a nice little selection of hot sauce available so I could add a nice kick to the meal. Was very pleased with the experience, would go again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YoshuaCaleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irish couple in Paris
Level Contributor
130 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good food, great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a great meal on a Saturday night. We hadn't booked a table but were given one immediately. The service was excellent despite being very busy. Food & drinks were good & reasonably priced.

Helpful?
Thank Siobhan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Was once great breakfast, but not anymore”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Having been going the Tavern for the past 9yrs for breakfast I have seen a real decline in the quality and quantity of food served.
Having returned from breakfast with my family today, I just feel I need to write this review. We ordered two big breakfast & american, the whole of the big breakfast was floating in grease & sausage very cheap nasty quality, eggs under cooked,bacon over cooked & poor quality.
Portions are now smaller with extra price tag.
From now on our family saturday breakfast will be spent in some other place in L18
They standard of food and cooking having slipped so very much in the past year. But this place will always be busy due to location, But from now on our family will dine elsewhere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linnylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tavern Company also viewed

 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to The Tavern Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing