We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sublime food, lovely family owned eaterie”

Gulshan Indian Restaurant
Ranked #162 of 1,696 Restaurants in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $49
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sublime food, lovely family owned eaterie”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Just because Gulshan was the first Indian restaurant in Liverpool, it by no means makes it the best. That said, i haven't found a more authentic, likeable place to eat, drink and be looked after than here. I read about the place in the Good Curry Guide which it has occupied for many years. The Spiced Roast Bengali Lamb is the best meat i have ever eaten. You've got to try it. I also liked the 2 for 1 cocktails offer on the weekend, when we went. It was a nice touch to a great night of hospitality.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EyesnBelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    50
    37
    30
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unlikely to visit again.”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We went as a group of 10, the table was booked for 9pm and though we were given menus and drinks quickly after sitting down it was nearly an hour and a half before our order was taken. The restaurant was not particularly busy, even though it was a Saturday night, and by the time we had eaten our meal we were the only diners left in the place so atmosphere was somewhat lacking. When the meals arrived the portions were not particularly generous, my passanda was quite thin and runny and only had about five small pieces of meat in it, I've had better curry from takeaways. The meals were pricey with even plain boiled rice not included in the price. The waiter we had was pleasant enough but the whole experience was something of a let down and I will be unlikely to return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BMDmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“gulshan best indian”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

lovely freindly place to eat , food is exceptional and staff are so attentive , authentic indian food with great atmosphere still cant manage a phal though

Helpful?
1 Thank fairtraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Favourite Take-away”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is my local indian resturant and my family have been going for years. Never had a bad meal!! I tend to get take-away's which are a little bit more expensive than your average but worth it. Ask fot the creamed spinach puri (not on the menu but they should do it) and i bet its the nicest indian food you will ever taste!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Becky87186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“unfriendly”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Staff are unfriendly and the food is pricy and not special at all. Some of it seems from the supermarket freezer range. Not impressed.

Helpful?
2 Thank h h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gulshan Indian Restaurant also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Gulshan Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing