We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Steak Dinner”

Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Liverpool
Ranked #88 of 1,716 Restaurants in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $45
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Situated in the FOODIE district of Liverpool, adjacent to the world renowned LIVERPOOL PHILHARMONIC, Ego Liverpool is perfect for that quick lunch or more relaxed four course meal.
Milngavie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Steak Dinner”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We visited Ego on a Tuesday and took advantage of their Steak Night offer. I had a rump steak and my wife had the sirloin. Both were tender and cooked to our taste. At £10 each they were very good value for money. Sweets were also delicious. The restaurant has a pleasant atmosphere and the staff were friendly and attentive. No negatives, an excellent night out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StevenMcF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne R, Guest Relations Manager at Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Liverpool, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments, we love hearing from all our customers and we do hope that you will return very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    187
    58
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“good value, great service.”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We, (husband and I), booked for Friday evening at 6.30 and took advantage of the prix fixe 3 course £15 menu. Staff were welcoming and attentive and the atmosphere was lovely with families, couples, groups, all seeming to have a great time. Food was good, freshly prepared, decent sized portions. I thought it was good value and with drinks came in at just under £45. It's really well located for a pleasant walk through Liverpool's beautiful Georgian streets and a pint at a good pub.
We sometimes struggle to find restaurants that cater for the whole family, but I would definately return here and bring the kids. For that alone, it's a massive thumbs up from me.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne R, Guest Relations Manager at Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Liverpool, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your Ego Experience and we do hope that you come and visit us again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value for what you pay”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Undoubtly the best value for the price .. Staff is great .. Food arrived in 10 minutes , tasted good .. Will definelty recommend it

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clive D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne R, Guest Relations Manager at Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Liverpool, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we love hearing from all our customers and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good value and service”
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We visited ego as it was very close to the hotel we were staying in hope street. The decor and lay out of the restaurant is fine. The service was efficient and friendly which is all you can ask. The food had highs and lows, starters especially the prawn in garlic and chilli was excellent, the mains were less so, pizza base undercooked and slow cooked pork belly was a little chewy. There was also the little issue of the fan blowing out hot air which prevented us from staying for a pudding but the waitress took on board our points and understood.

If you are looking for a good value meal with good service then I would recommend this place - just don't sit under the fan!

Helpful?
Thank Sabina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne R, Guest Relations Manager at Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Liverpool, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback, we appreciate all feedback from our customers and we hope that you will visit us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good Food Good Service”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Enjoyed a meal at Ego Liverpool Sunday 17th February 2013. Early evening menu. The service was excellent. We were greeted by a very pleasant young lady who offered us a choice of table. Drinks orders were taken with advice on wine and we were informed of the special. We ordered bread and olives to start followed by pate for myself and my brother while my husband had goats cheese. We all had steak for main course and it was cooked to perfection with all meals arriving together. Selection of vegetables pleasant and nicely cooked.

All in all a really pleasant meal maybe one critisim was the the plain white bread was a bit boring maybe a selection would be better

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ANITAAWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne R, Guest Relations Manager at Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Liverpool, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we love hearing from all our customers and we do hope that you will visit us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Liverpool also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing