We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a rip off now....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jalons Restaurant

Jalons Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Jalons Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,119 of 1,651 Restaurants in Liverpool
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Liverpool
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Such a rip off now....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Used to love Jalons, really reasonable and great food. The last few years though, there has been a steady decline in the quality of food and increase in the price. There is little on the menu now that does not have a 'supplement' attached. The side orders are expensive and adding on over £1 for oil and balsamic to some bread?? The same guy has been singing the same songs (loudly) for a while now and whilst I would never want to see him go, try new songs, or new people every so often. A shame really about the whole thing because the Chicken liver pate is without doubt the best I have ever tasted

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Missyp2930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    42
    37
    24
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A very pleasant relaxing Sunday lunch.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

As daughter was away we decided to have Sunday lunch at Jalons. How different to the hustle and bustle of the many many local carveries. Granted we arrived about 1:15 (opens at 1:00) and where second group. We had £9:95 menu for starter and main course. On Sundays there is a roast dinner. We both had Seared Tuna Nicoise salad as starter and the roast beef. All done to perfection three large slices of beef with vegetables that where fresh and firm (broccoli and cauliflower). Nice window table for two. Excellent service and a pleasant experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

i went with my husband it was a two course meal for £9.95. the choice is really good for a set meal. Had pate to start and it was the best i have had with lovely salad and dressing, husband had meatballs which were lovely also. For main meal i had steak and my husband had lamb. I can honestly say the both meals were beautiful. The service was excellent and staff very helpful and friendly. I drink vodka and lemonade and even my drink was lovely. we will be back and most certainly would recommend this as a great value for money as you are paying pub prices for top restaurant food and service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonkoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huyton merseyside
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“good food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

went to this restaurant 22 jan in a birthday party of 24 people. ages ranged from 8 to 79. normally in a party this big at a restraunt the meals come out few at a time, with some people having finnished their starter while others are still waiting for theirs. that wasn't the case at jalons.we were all served quickley throughout the meal so we were all eating together. the staff never stopped smiling and nothing was to much trouble.thank you to the chef who produced the tasty hot meals, every plate went back to the kitchen empty. well done to the staff of jalons, we all had an enjoyable evening. would definatly go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank molato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Went here midweek before Xmas. Set menu was good value and the food was really tasty. Normally not a fan of music in a restaurant but they had a female singer on who was surprisingly good. Staff helpful,can't fault it for the price,will visit again

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hannahsarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jalons Restaurant also viewed

 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Jalons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing