We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant”
Review of The Egg Cafe

The Egg Cafe
Ranked #87 of 1,696 Restaurants in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The Egg Cafe is located in the heart of the Liverpool, just off Bold Street. It occupies the light and airy loft space of an old Victorian warehouse building, affording a panoramic view of the city centre. As well as being Liverpool's premier vegetarian restaurant, The Egg is also an independent art gallery and a popular meeting place. The relaxed and bohemian atmosphere attracts a diverse crowd and is especially popular amongst artists and students
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Even though we are not vegetarian, my partner and I loved this gem. We visited twice on our three day visit and were not disappointed. Today, we had the special. Starter, main, dessert( cake) and drink. The Moroccan stew was divine. The other day we had hummus which was delicious. Worth the climb up the stairs. Love the artwork, views.
My only suggestion is to put up a mind the step sign on the ladies loo door. The door opens to a downward flight of stairs and I nearly fell down !

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JAFFA_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    187
    51
    26
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This place is a little gem. Great selection of vegetarian and vegan meals. The soups are especially good. Great value as well. Relaxed rustic decor and friendly, helpful staff. Have eaten here a few times and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jakethemuss2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow.”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We had heard about this restaurant from a friend who is vegetarian and fancied something a bit different to toasties/chips. I am not a vegetarian and can't say I would ever choose a dish like they serve here if I were to go to any ordinary place however... this was AMAZING.

I had some sort of vegetable dish in a creamy tomato sauce which also came with rice and salad (when I say salad I mean one with ALL the trimmings!!!) All 3 of us thoroughly enjoyed our meals and the prices were great too (this coming from a student!)

So I would 100% recommend this place AND especially the cakes... all home made too. just delicious. I will be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kelsiemh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Terrible food, poor service”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

The food was awful. I ordered the red dragon pie with rice. It came with enough rice to feed about four people, and a very small slice of pie. The pie was mostly mashed potato, with a thin layer of bland tasting beans underneath. My friends' food was bad too - the bean burger came with a revolting sauce and the humus was tasteless. The waitress was quite rude and you have to go and find the cutlery yourself. It's quite well hidden. The decor's OK if you really like pink. I don't.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank JaneLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“SOMETHING A BIT DIFFERENT!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Although I'm not vegetarian I do enjoy coming here. The atmosphere is chilled, there's wifi and the staff are friendly enough. The menu is slightly limited but I've had the spicy burger a few times, covered in a nice relish and served with hummus, pasta and a pitta bread, I've enjoyed it each time. Worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tunners556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Egg Cafe also viewed

 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to The Egg Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing