We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SOMETHING A BIT DIFFERENT!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Egg Cafe

The Egg Cafe
Ranked #102 of 1,679 Restaurants in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The Egg Cafe is located in the heart of the Liverpool, just off Bold Street. It occupies the light and airy loft space of an old Victorian warehouse building, affording a panoramic view of the city centre. As well as being Liverpool's premier vegetarian restaurant, The Egg is also an independent art gallery and a popular meeting place. The relaxed and bohemian atmosphere attracts a diverse crowd and is especially popular amongst artists and students
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“SOMETHING A BIT DIFFERENT!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Although I'm not vegetarian I do enjoy coming here. The atmosphere is chilled, there's wifi and the staff are friendly enough. The menu is slightly limited but I've had the spicy burger a few times, covered in a nice relish and served with hummus, pasta and a pitta bread, I've enjoyed it each time. Worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tunners556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    187
    51
    26
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Poor quality food in dirty environment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

I have been visiting the egg cafe on and off for twenty years, at first it was great , as it was the only vegetarian cafe in Liverpool, it still is one of only a few and that may be the reason it is popular.
If you don't mind what poor quality food you eat as long as it ticks the veggie box than you might like the place but I find it a bit insulting to the customers to serve GMO soy milk and food of this low quality in such a dirty environment. Not for me sadly.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“You must go even if you eat meat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

We go here every time we visit Liverpool. It is truely fantastic. Everything is home made - I am a meat-eater and I absolutely love eating here even though it's vegan! All the food is delicious and you really do not miss eating meat. I highly recommend the cheese on toast with all the trimmings - FIT. The atmosphere is so nice and friendly in there, I also love going of an evening and being able to take your own alcohol. Mellow little hangout with candles on the tables and good music.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great if you're used to it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Terrible if you're coming for variety.

The egg is great for quantity from their set menu and the cheese on toast is the best in the city but they don't explore other vegetarian dishes which they could do with doing (i.e. omelettes and other egg based meals, tofu etc).

I love coming here for breakfast, I'd just love to see a faster rotation of menu choices whilst keeping the core items. Also,

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best veggie food in the city!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Favourite restaurant in Liverpool, purely because you always know what they're going to have on the menu and its top quality and value for money every time.

They do vegetarian and vegan food, and the choice is actually really good for a cafe, with everything rather healthy too!

Highly recommend the soup for just £2.75 with a big slab of homemade bread and butter, and the soup of the day is different ever day! My favourite is coconut and cauliflower.

Portions are huge, whether you're having breakfast, lunch, dinner or a piece of cake, and all the food is always freshly made and delivered to your table nice and quickly. If you're going for dinner, you can bring your own wine and they charge just £1 for corkage.

Always a great lively atmosphere as its a firm local favourite, with brilliant art on the walls - exhibitions change every month or so.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sinead N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Egg Cafe also viewed

 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to The Egg Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing