We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book at your perrel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pineapple Hotel
Ranked #55 of 72 Liverpool B&B and Inns
Belfast, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Book at your perrel”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Booking a room on a budget, we didn't expect 5 star quality but, this hotel was horrendous from the start. There wasn't a reception area and the staff seemed disinterested when we came to check in. On first inspection, the room seemed okay at best but after closer inspection we realised that it was dirty and clearly hadn't been cleaned. The towels were dirty and stained, the shower leaked, the cutlery was dirty, the tea and coffee making facilities were appalling and there were no complimentary toiletries. In conclusion, this hotel is worse than a youth hostel and should be avoided at all costs!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    32
    30
    19
    38
See reviews for
17
28
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I was due to stay at the Pineapple recently while visiting the wonderful Liverpool region.Upon arrival It was clear to me I had made a terrible mistake. The so called Hotel was dirty, smelly and very ran down. After trying in vain to get access through a side door of the Building, I was ushered into the Bar area by a rude and untidy women. the smell and the untidiness of the place was the worst I have ever seen !!! This women then fumbled about with pieces of paper on the bar counter and then yelled at me saying that I had no booking ( I showed her the reservation number etc, but she still was rude and uncooperative )...I was told that I would have to stay in the annex "down the Road" which I declined and said I was going elsewhere as the customers in the Bar were becoming a bit intimidating..... This is the my worst experience in a Hotel/ B&B ever. Avoid at all costs......

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WJH67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

this hotel is just situated off the city centre and is ideal place if your looking for something basic and cheap to stay in the bedrooms are on the 1st&2nd floor both axcessed by stairs there is no lift better bring some rubber soles as there is not a mat for the shower

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_lorraine_1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herselt, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Ideal hotel if you are on a budget. Prices can be very high in Liverpool and this was the cheapest room we could find for our trip. We booked the family room, which were four twin beds. Staff was friendly and the room was clean as well. We got served a good English breakfast, but you also could choose for cereals if you wanted. The breakfast was served in the pub on groundlevel of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jajaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Arrived at hotel if u can call it that, at about 12.30 in the afternoon, lady was messing about with tv to even bother serving us, eventually when she could be bothered she did!! We got our room key and was told we were staying in the next street down, we booked the pinapple hotel not a place down the road!! It was no more than a hostal 2 rooms down stairs and a few more up stairs which were discusting, we had to share a bathroom with other guests which was discusting!! My mate and I had been out in town and came back to the hotel for a kip only for me to wake up at around 6am with a burglar in the room, who was trying to take the tv off the wall, we wrestled him to the ground only to find he had stolen both our wallets and both our mobile phones! No security or anything to be seen!!!! We left about an hour later as there was no chance we were getting any sleep after what had happend!! We went and spoke to the land lady and to be honest she didn't seem suprised we had been robbed!! She just said sorry for that! Nothing was done about it!! Avoid this place at all costs!! What a dump of a so called hotel!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirky8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutch1966, Manager at The Pineapple Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
All a bit confusing here. Nobody is condoning any alleged actions by 3rd parties but who in their right mind refuses to wait for the police??? Somebody with something to hide, perhaps? Also, why do people choose to tell the hold world via websites when something could have been done there and then. Lots of rumours here about doors being left wide open.........There are 2 sides to every story, say no more.

Guests, please speak to us and let us help you at the time. Closing the stable door after the horse has bolted achieves nothing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We booked this hotel for a girly weekend and night out in Liverpool. When we arrived we were given a key a directed to the top floor. The key didn't work so we had to go ask for another to which the owner seemed a bit put out and sent one of the pub customers to help us, they gave us another key and when we eventually got in the room it was not to our request. We specifically asked for a room with a bathroom which this did not have and there was a shared one on the corridor which was disgusting! At this point we looked online and found somewhere else to stay. We asked the owner about the bathroom situation and she didn't seem bothered we were leaving she said it stated on the website (it didn't). When we phoned to complain later she was very funny with us. Really bad service will never go back!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rswilliams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutch1966, Manager at The Pineapple Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
We do not offer rooms for sale with bathrooms when they do not have one. If anything, guests are upgraded to rooms with bathrooms, never downwards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Colwyn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We booked a room under the impression we had a bathroom in room ....we didnt ...the key wouldn't fit in our room they sent a guy up to help who was ...not sober shall we say .... Awful so much so we walked out and booked another hotel .....not a hotel for ladies nightmare night !

Room Tip: None of them !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kym W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4,067 reviews
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#21 of 97 in Liverpool
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#16 of 97 in Liverpool
3,178 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pineapple Hotel

Property: The Pineapple Hotel
Address: 258 Park Road, Liverpool L8 4UE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pineapple is a 150 year old, family owned, former coaching inn one mile from the City Centre. It is now a B&B with a popular bar but the name and the locals' bar have both remained. We are just 20 minutes from the John Lennon Airport on the way to the City and only 5 minutes from Lime Street Station and all other popular attractions and nightlife. We are only a short ride from the ferry terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Pineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing