We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all costs!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pineapple Hotel
Ranked #58 of 74 Liverpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Arrived at hotel if u can call it that, at about 12.30 in the afternoon, lady was messing about with tv to even bother serving us, eventually when she could be bothered she did!! We got our room key and was told we were staying in the next street down, we booked the pinapple hotel not a place down the road!! It was no more than a hostal 2 rooms down stairs and a few more up stairs which were discusting, we had to share a bathroom with other guests which was discusting!! My mate and I had been out in town and came back to the hotel for a kip only for me to wake up at around 6am with a burglar in the room, who was trying to take the tv off the wall, we wrestled him to the ground only to find he had stolen both our wallets and both our mobile phones! No security or anything to be seen!!!! We left about an hour later as there was no chance we were getting any sleep after what had happend!! We went and spoke to the land lady and to be honest she didn't seem suprised we had been robbed!! She just said sorry for that! Nothing was done about it!! Avoid this place at all costs!! What a dump of a so called hotel!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kirky8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutch1966, Manager at The Pineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

All a bit confusing here. Nobody is condoning any alleged actions by 3rd parties but who in their right mind refuses to wait for the police??? Somebody with something to hide, perhaps? Also, why do people choose to tell the hold world via websites when something could have been done there and then. Lots of rumours here about doors being left wide open.........There are 2 sides to every story, say no more.

Guests, please speak to us and let us help you at the time. Closing the stable door after the horse has bolted achieves nothing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 147 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

We booked this hotel for a girly weekend and night out in Liverpool. When we arrived we were given a key a directed to the top floor. The key didn't work so we had to go ask for another to which the owner seemed a bit put out and sent one of the pub customers to help us, they gave us another key and when we eventually got in the room it was not to our request. We specifically asked for a room with a bathroom which this did not have and there was a shared one on the corridor which was disgusting! At this point we looked online and found somewhere else to stay. We asked the owner about the bathroom situation and she didn't seem bothered we were leaving she said it stated on the website (it didn't). When we phoned to complain later she was very funny with us. Really bad service will never go back!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rswilliams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutch1966, Manager at The Pineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

We do not offer rooms for sale with bathrooms when they do not have one. If anything, guests are upgraded to rooms with bathrooms, never downwards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We booked a room under the impression we had a bathroom in room ....we didnt ...the key wouldn't fit in our room they sent a guy up to help who was ...not sober shall we say .... Awful so much so we walked out and booked another hotel .....not a hotel for ladies nightmare night !

Room Tip: None of them !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kym W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel is perfect for a night out. 8 of us stayed in 2 rooms everything fine. At The end of the day it's a pub with rooms. Will 100% use again. 5£ taxi to town. Easy parking good service good pint just need a little bit of Everton memorabilia in the bar and would get 5 on everything

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stuart b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutch1966, Manager at The Pineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you. Future guests, please read all reviews and take them 'in the round'. Trip Advisor is excellent as it lets you see both sides. Guests love us or hate us, and it is easier to focus on the negative rather than the positive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Sadly not a very enjoyable stay. Luckily the staff are very pleasant. That's where the good review stops! For value it's just ok! Unpleasant smell in bar, rooms are very cramped, but clean! Little facilities! Didn't chance breakfast! Can't comment on that!
Overall don't plan a visit if ur in Liverpool for romantic w/end!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank puppydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

we stayed here for 1 night in April this year, got the half hour early but not a soul in sight, rang the hotel on numerous occasions but no answer and had to wait in the cold. got a double bed after being promised an extra single on the phone, in the end i had to sleep on the floor as my friend could have the bed. the shower was pathetic, very tight squeeze and broken curtain rail, water spills everywhere. i smashed my head on the glass shelf which is too low when brushing my teeth. very dirty floor in the room and no light except for light in the shower room. please be warned as you will only regret staying here.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Wasnt the hotel for us at the time to be honest. At the time i was pregnant therefore wanted a nice peacefull place to stay after a day shopping which isnt this hotel as the music and laughing went on till 5am. Didnt sleep much due to this. Perfect place to stay if ure going on a night out tho. Just a taxi or bus journey to the city centre. Cant comment on the service much as we only saw someone the once when we checked in but to be fair it was extremely busy. She did show us to our room and had a lovely warm welcoming smile. Room was light and airy and bathroom was nice. My point of view, not for a family. Will be back if i ever go on a night out tho.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BigMutha88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza  Liverpool City Centre
1.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Liverpool
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#24 of 98 in Liverpool
1,914 reviews
2.9 mi away
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#16 of 98 in Liverpool
3,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Nadler Liverpool
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 98 in Liverpool
4,262 reviews
1.4 mi away
ibis Liverpool Centre Albert Dock - Liverpool One
1.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pineapple Hotel

Address: 258 Park Road, Liverpool L8 4UE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Liverpool
Price Range: $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pineapple is a 150 year old, family owned, former coaching inn one mile from the City Centre. It is now a B&B with a popular bar but the name and the locals' bar have both remained. We are just 20 minutes from the John Lennon Airport on the way to the City and only 5 minutes from Lime Street Station and all other popular attractions and nightlife. We are only a short ride from the ferry terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Pineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing