We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Pineapple - 'Cheap & Cheerful'” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pineapple Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pineapple Hotel
Ranked #60 of 76 Liverpool B&B and Inns
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The Pineapple - 'Cheap & Cheerful'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just an over-night stop, but well-pleased with this inexpensive accommodation. Room was clean and tidy - en-suite with shower etc. Bar was still open when we returned after our evening function, so had a drink and a chat with the locals - good fun.
Taxi back from the city centre was about a fiver.an only say you must have had
Penny R - this IS a genuine review, and we have stayed in 4/5-Star hotels all over the world (e.g. Waldorf Astoris NYC) - so I can only say you must have been unlucky with your room.
Good value for the money - but it is basic.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room over the bar, no problems at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John-boyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    31
    30
    19
    37
See reviews for
16
28
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed here on the Saturday following valentines day... it was the only hotel available within walking distance (30 minutes not 15 as claimed by the hotel) to the city centre. We decided to book as most of the reviews seemed OK and at £55 for a twin room with shared bathroom facilities it was the lowest price we could find without having to stay at the airport. Oh how we regretted not booking the Holiday Inn at the airport when we arrived!!! To start with I would not describe this place as a hotel, it is more like a hostel above a pub. We did not feel safe or feel that our valuables would be secure if we left them in the room because there was nothing to prevent people accessing the "hotel" and the rooms from the pub below and the door to the room was flimsy to say the least (should be a fire door on the third floor but anyway!..). The room was tiny with no central heating - only an oil heater (filthy) was provided. The room was no more than a box room that they seemingly had stuck an extra bed in to accommodate our booking... I suspect the second bed is not normally in use as the base was broken and leaning precariously to one side. The room was tatty and filthy and so were the communal areas. Oh and don't expect to be able to speak to a manager... they were not available when we checked in and chose to ignore our message left with the only member of staff on duty (who was also trying to run the pub on her own) asking them to contact us. I expect that the good reviews about this hotel are not genuine so to ignore the bad ones would be ill-advised! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED

Room Tip: Don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutch1966, Manager at The Pineapple Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Got to say on this one, thanks for the review as we had the roof inspected and found that the whole lot needed replacing. That was done this summer. A brand new external roof - not just that room. The whole top floor has also being redecorated, not just the room you see.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Recently stayed here on a Saturday night with a group of 8 friends, hotel was easy to find an only 2 minutes away from the city centre a cheap taxi or £1 bus journey!
Hotel staff were friendly and always willing to help!
Hotel was clean not dirty at all!
Overall a fantastic well run hotel, and if I visit Liverpool again it will certainly be at this hotel!
Such good value for money!
Highly recommend

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bradley f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yeovil
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

.....when we told them we were staying in a B&B in Toxteth/Dingle. My son and I stayed for a long weekend as we were going to Anfield to see the 'mighty' Reds. I will tell anyone who is planning a trip to the wonderful City of Liverpool to make directly to The Pineapple.

Friendly staff, clean, tidy rooms, comfortable beds. No hassle returning whatever time of the day or night. The bar is wonderful, full of atmsophere, the locals are garrulous & welcoming (you have to experience the karaoke on Friday night ~ and I HATE karaoke). Cheap beer (always a plus point). I stayed in the bar each night rather than venture further afield, and wouldn't have missed it for a moment, whether sitting chatting with a few regulars, or enjoying people singing their hearts out. If you want to experience more than just the Pineapple, taxis are inexpensive and efficient.

The Pineapple People helped hugely, in making the weekend a memorable one for the both of us, oh and the fact Liverpool beat Southampton.

Stay at this charismatic, cheap, well run Hotel. You wont regret it

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed here with my family a while ago. The rooms were fine though the hotel seemed to be very popular with big party groups and so can be loud. Not in a very nice area of the city which is a downside. There was also an altercation involving money being taken which shouldn't have been and it took a long time to get the money back. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kfizz-jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Being a regular traveller to Liverpool and over the years having stayed in various Hotels and B&Bs I can easily say this is the worst place I have ever stayed in.

Where to start? My room was in a a place they call the "Four Seasons" which is in fact a terraced house round the corner from the hotel. No staff in this house which you share with the occupants of 4 or 5 other rooms. No controls whatever.You also share the bathroom which is easily the worst I have seen. Enamel worn away on the bathtub, dirty towels left all over the floor, Floor tiles cracked and uneven. And generally filthy.

The room I had was like an oven, this was due to what appeared to be the central heating boiler which was encased in a padlocked wooden coffret in the corner of the room. The noise was awful every time this thing fired up all night long. The bed was terrible due to the cheap and worn out mattress. I couldn't sleep due to a combination of the bed and the stifling heat.

I had to go to the "Pineapple Hotel" round the corner for my breakfast which I had been told was until 10.30am. I arrived at 10.05am and was told I was too late as no one was available to cook me breakfast. I was offered a "Continental Breakfast" of tea and toast which I declined. I requested a refund for the £5 I had paid for the breakfast and was again told that no one was available who was authorised to give me a refund.

On arrival I was immediately requested to pay cash as no other payment was acceptable. I paid £40 for 1 night. I would say this place would have been daylight robbery at £25.00.

The surrounding area is depressed you have to walk for at least 20 minutes to find somewhere to eat. Many of the streetlights were out and it is generally run down.

Room Tip: A good room would be in any other establishment you could possibly find.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutch1966, Manager at The Pineapple Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
If there was a website for listing nightmare customers, this guy would be a the top of the list with 5 gold stars. On balance there is an element of truth in the review but it is laughable. Please read all reviews and form your own balance opinion. We constantly strive to improve what we do and that is always an ongoing process.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland co kerry
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

group irish girls stayed here for 2 nites ,want to say this is not a hotel its bedrooms over a pub. nosw it was clean some rooms had no toilet shower or sink .walls paper thin. staff were lovely so was breakfast. you are a taxi ride to city .do not walk its half hour and area not great as said by taxi staff.liverpool is nice for food and shopping .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamer055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Sefton Park
Sefton Park Hotel
Sefton Park Hotel
#67 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Sefton Park
The Mountford Hotel
The Mountford Hotel
#21 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Liverpool Gateway Limited
#12 of 76 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Sefton Park
Casa Da Ana
Casa Da Ana
#47 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
The Penny Lane Hotel
#2 of 76 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pineapple Hotel

Property: The Pineapple Hotel
Address: 258 Park Road, Liverpool L8 4UE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pineapple is a 150 year old, family owned, former coaching inn one mile from the City Centre. It is now a B&B with a popular bar but the name and the locals' bar have both remained. We are just 20 minutes from the John Lennon Airport on the way to the City and only 5 minutes from Lime Street Station and all other popular attractions and nightlife. We are only a short ride from the ferry terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Pineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing