We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Childwall Abbey Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Park Hotel(Liverpool)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Park Lane(Liverpool)
View Hotel
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveler rating
39
52
30
23
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
52
30
23
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel looked beautifulchurch oppositehope universityroom was perfectly adequatenice big tvquiet areafour poster bedfull englishincluding breakfastbusiness staysmall hotelafter midnightvisit liverpool againsingle roombed was comfortablecouple of nightsliverpool centre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 166 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Room was much bigger than anticipated and spotlessly clean. Was very surprised as didn't expect the rooms to be this nice. Little toiletries in the bathroom which is always a nice touch. Felt the staff let the place down, especially in the morning. Not at all friendly which is a shame. Felt like we were an inconvenience and it took ages for us to be able to hand the keys back and settle the bill. Would possibly stay here again, hopefully the staff will be chirpier next time

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have used the family room twice for the four of us. The staff put a z bed in for our youngest and we find the room spacious and comfortable. Good cooked breakfasts and good location for us it is near our friends. It is a pub hotel with a few rooms and as such a good standard.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alastair D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

A very pleasing outside to the hotel and gardens,with the lights reflecting onto the hotel.On arrival no one to meet and greet.Took ages to find someone and when we did they were miserable.Entering the very clean but small double room when pulling back the curtains we were shocked to find bars on the windows. when reading the Fire precautions on the back of the door it read in cace of Fire use the nearest exit.There was a fire door in the bedroom which would you believe was locked,only to find more bars up to windows on the landings of the hotel.A constant rumbling noise of what we were told was the boiler,kept us awake all night aswell as the next rooms shower and toilet flush .A minimal un appealing breakfast in a dark gloomy room wasnt the best enviroment to be starting off your day.No finess.

Room Tip: dont choose room one actually another hotel if you want a nice break
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I arrived to an absolutely packed pub/hotel lots of people sitting outside on a lovely sunny day with their bottles of wine, I checked in to a lovely room overlooking the bowling green , the place was amazing and when somewhere is packed like that I know its a good place, we got to first name terms with Brian who does a fantastic job of running that very hectic place, I had printed a drinks voucher off their site and no questions asked a lovely pint appeared on the bar, this place has to be seen, it has fantastic views, a lovely church across the road, fantastic staff and the cleaners were even emptying the cig butt trays they were very thorough, we felt very much at ease and the room was spotless , I will definatley visit again, Thanks for a brill stay *****

Room Tip: my sister was in the room on the other side of the hotel and everywhere was quiet the window area had the wires on so the birds could'nt land on the window sills which i thought was good
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed at Childwall Abbey for two nights this weekend and had family also stay for one evening. Brian and his staff were friendly and courteous and made sure that we had everything we needed. Our room was lovely, fresh and clean with plenty of room for two adults and a child.
Breakfast was fresh and plentiful.
All in all both ourselves and our family thought Childwall Abbey was a great place to stay and we would return. As we were attending a family wedding we didn't sample the food in the pub itself.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank braddersc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews