We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrogant Front Desk at check-in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport
Ranked #54 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I booked the hotel, including b/f, on hotels.com. On arrival Saturday night (8th June), I was immediately asked for a credit card, as a deposit. I had already paid for the stay, and there is no minibar in the room. The deposit was required, she said, in case I break something in the room. I offered three times the amount in cash, but the receptionist said it has to be a credit card. Otherwise, she said, she would not allow me to stay in the hotel! So credit card it had to be. On checking out on Sunday, another girl at the front desk asked me whether I had paid the deposit in cash or with a credit card (!). Breakfast, on a Sunday morning, ends at 10am. This in the UK, a country renowned for late breakfast on a Sunday. And the bread was out at about 9:30. I was very kindly offered gluten-free bread. Other guests were not so lucky. On another note, Premier Inn are much closer to the airport, but hotels.com did not feature this hotel during booking.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phileas80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Phileas80,

Reference: Holiday Inn Express Liverpool John Lennon Airport

Thank you for your feedback regarding you recent stay.

Please be advised that an approval will be sought on your credit or debit card for an amount equal to your total room nights plus incidental charges.

If a swipe of a credit card is taken this should have no effect to your credit limit available.

If a swipe of your debit card is taken please be advised that this will go into a holding account and will be completed on departure with any difference releasing within five working days.

Martin Lote
Hotel Maanger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (678)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 678 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

Room fine bathroom extraordinary with a crazy door inside the bathroo for the loo. Bar prices not particularly good value. Breakfast standard express holiday inn fare well presented and pleasant staff. I think it is very similar to the premier inn just down the road and whichever is significantly cheaper is better value. Good car park and five mins to Airport carpark

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodAndArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear FoodandArt,

Reference: Holiday Inn Express Liverpool John Lennon Airport

Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding you recent stay. We are continuingly looking for ways to improve our food and beverage options for our guests, hopefully you can return in the near future to sample some of our new items

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Martin Lote
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here the night before we went away, and it is in a very convenient location, just 3 mins from leaving the hotel to parking up at the airport. The rooms are what you would expect from a chain hotel, pretty standard size, clean etc. The breakfast was a simple selection of sausages, scrambled eggs, beans, cereals, bread, fruit, croissants and teas coffees and fruit juices... but what more do you need?

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank -80-J-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear -80-J-,

Reference: Holiday Inn Express Liverpool John Lennon Airport



Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding you recent stay. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Martin Lote
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Just stayed at this hotel overnight for 3 adults with continental breakfast plenty of tea coffee in room plus 8 days parking for £56 beat that
Tthe bedroom was set up as 1 double and 1 sofa bed but the sofa bed was as comfy as the bed the shower sink and toilet were in one part of the room it was very clean the shower was lovely and hot, Dove shower and shampoo cream provided, also on the sink was Dove liquid hand soapwhich was nice

Room Tip: not tips dont need any cant fault this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilko124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Wilko124,

Reference: Holiday Inn Express Liverpool John Lennon Airport

Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding you recent stay. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Martin Lote

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I booked this on line because we wanted the free parking and conveience of staying overnight
I was sent an email confirming £60 charge which was great I told them I did not want to take by
debit card to portugal as I was worried about over spending ect they said my booking would be canceled if I did not bring the card when we arrived after portugal under there breth the mentioned
a £30 deposit which there was no mention of we were fuming and watch every sing person having
the same conversation we were not interested in running up a bar bill as we alway pay cash and
in the morning they stiill swiped my card for £91 which 30 of will not be refuned for a week why
we had broke nothing and had not spent only in cash and nobody mentioned a £1 charge when
we checked out I was not given any form of debit card receit and the food was minimul in
the bar pizzar of tikka masla for around a tenner the breakfast was rubish sausges and scrabled eggs on little plates but Im realy angry about the £30 as it wont go in my account for a week why not mentioned it or not swipe the card which they dont until the morning anyway
surely this is against trading standards its the worst holiday inn with the worst not to mention least choice food

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alison o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank You for your recent feedback regarding the Holiday Inn Express Liverpool John Lennon Airport.

Please be advised that an approval will be sought on your credit or debit card for an amount equal to your total room nights plus incidental charges.

If a swipe of a credit card is taken this should have no effect to your credit limit available.

If a swipe of your debit card is taken please be advised that this will go into a holding account and will be completed on departure with any difference releasing within five working days.


Thank you for your co-operation.

With Kind Regards

Teresa

Teresa Hatton
Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have stayed at this place before and is a decent budget option. Rooms are modern and fresh looking, choice of firm / soft pillows, modern TV and breakfast was plentiful. Service was friendly and efficient. Only gripe this time was that the room had shower only, no bath.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricko211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Ricko

Many Thanks for your recent feedback regarding your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Liverpool John Lennon Airport.

Look forward to welcoming back in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Teresa

Teresa Hatton
Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

About five minute drive from the airport this works if you need an overnight stay before a crack of dawn flight. Decent quality at sensible price when booked online. The staff were friendly, the rooms clean and comfortable. Free wifi and continental breakfast from 4:00 a real bonus for us loonies who need to use it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vincec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Many Thanks for your recent feedback regarding the Holiday Inn Express Liverpool John Lennon Airport. We are open for breakfast early as we know guests have early flights to catch and it's great to get a hot drink and toast prior to making one's way to the departure gates at any time.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Teresa

Teresa Hatton
Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liverpool
Travelodge Liverpool Docks
#47 of 99 in Liverpool
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#23 of 99 in Liverpool
4,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport

Address: 1 Speke Hall Avenue, Liverpool L24 1UX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
#26 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#35 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: $54 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Liverpool John Lennon Airport is ideally located for both Liverpool Airport and as a base for exploring the fabulous City of Liverpool, which is celebrating as European Captial of Culture 2008. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, our modern hotel offers both comfort and value for money so you can relax, recharge and face the day with a smile. We offer complimentary secure parking at the hotel for any guests staying overnight or attending a conference in one of our 3 purpose built meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport Hotel Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing